MedAI Verdict
Medical education

AI Medical Education

Osmosis

by Elsevier

Last verified

Elsevier's health education platform: short illustrated videos, flashcards and practice questions, with plans per program (MD, DO, PA, NP, RN).

At a glance

Pricing
Billed every 3 months, about $50 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. Auto-renews unless canceled.
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

26/100Niche fit
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/6.2

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/2.6

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/8.8

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    8.4/19.8

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    6.5/20

    Prices listed publicly

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/1

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/5

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/1

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/1

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/0

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/7

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/2

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal8/12

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Years in market0/8

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency7/7

    Prices listed publicly

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Elsevier's health education platform: short illustrated videos, flashcards and practice questions, with plans per program (MD, DO, PA, NP, RN).

Billed every 3 months, about $50 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. Auto-renews unless canceled.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Osmosis is Elsevier's video-based study platform for health professions students: short illustrated videos, flashcards and practice questions, sold as separate plans for MD, DO, PA, NP and RN programs. It suits an early medical or nursing student who learns from pictures and wants one subscription alongside coursework. A student choosing a single Step 1 resource on a tight budget should price it against Pathoma, which lists a lower yearly rate.

What is Osmosis and who sells it?

Elsevier, part of RELX, announced its acquisition of Osmosis on 29 November 2021. The company had about 70 staff then, and co-founder Shiv Gaglani became managing director under Elsevier. Osmosis started with former Johns Hopkins students, and press reports place it in Salt Lake City and Baltimore.

Elsevier's support pages say plans are aligned to specific programs, and no "Prime" plan exists any more. Elsevier also uses Osmosis videos inside its Sherpath nursing courses.

What does the MD plan contain?

The MD plan lists more than 1,700 videos and more than 2,700 USMLE Step 1 style questions, according to the MD plan page. Nursing and the other professions get their own plans. A 2022-era review at Elite Medical Prep says the study schedule can pull in First Aid, Pathoma and Sketchy content.

Reviewers praise the visual, bite-sized videos for coursework and the reach across nursing and other health professions. An undated Student Doctor Network thread is mixed, and some posters there call the platform a waste of time.

How much does Osmosis cost?

In October 2026 the MD plan page lists $149 for three months billed every three months, about $50 a month, and $249 for twelve months, about $21 a month. A 24-month option works out to about $17 a month with the total not shown. Plans renew automatically until cancelled.

For comparison, Pathoma's sign-up page lists its Pro plan at $99.95 for twelve months as a one-time payment, with the 2026 paperback included.

Has anyone tested whether it works?

No peer-reviewed study of Osmosis is known, only vendor copy, press about the Elsevier deal and forum opinion.

Who is it for?

An MS1 whose lectures move too fast and who wants a ten-minute video before each exam block. An RN student whose program already uses Sherpath and wants the same videos on a phone.

It fits less well as the only resource for dedicated Step 1 study, where 2,700 questions sits below the 3,200-plus that Kaplan's Step 1 Qbank page lists.

The verdict

Osmosis is a video library from a large publisher. At $249 a year it costs two and a half times Pathoma's $99.95, so it earns its place only for a student who wants pictures for the whole curriculum and will not make do with pathology alone.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
MD plan, 3 months——Billed every 3 months, about $50 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. Auto-renews unless canceled.
MD plan, 12 months—USD 249About $21 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. A 24-month plan is listed at about $17 per month with no total shown.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.