Abridge vs ScribeMD
ScribeMD, sold by EE Dojo, Inc., lists a free individual tier on its pricing page and a custom-priced enterprise tier for groups, clinics and health systems. Its homepage names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm, and the vendor says 30,000+ physicians use it. A single physician starting out can use that free tier.
Abridge sells to health systems and runs inside Epic from Haiku through Hyperdrive. Third-party estimates run about $208 to $600 per clinician per month plus implementation (currency not stated, per RFP.wiki, and some roundups come from competing scribe vendors).
A health system's security team on Epic reads two different statements. Abridge's Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 with the report on request, plus a standard BAA, and ScribeMD states BAAs in place too. ScribeMD's security page shows a SOC 2 badge without a type, and its homepage words it as "SOC 2 audited infrastructure". For that buyer, ScribeMD trails.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Abridge
- Epic-native, Haiku through Hyperdrive
- SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 on its Trust Center
- Third-party estimate $208 to $600 monthly, currency not stated
ScribeMD
- Free individual tier, custom enterprise pricing
- Homepage names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Abridge
63of 100
ScribeMD
52of 100
| Dimension | Abridge | ScribeMD | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 13 / 13 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 6.3 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -4.2 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 12 / 12 | 12 / 12 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 4.9 / 7 | 0 / 7 | +4.9 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 12 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +9 |
| Pricing transparency | 0 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -5 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Abridge
Quote only, no public price.
ScribeMD
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual doctor | n/a | n/a | Free forever, no credit card required. The pricing page does not state what the free tier limits. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom per organization for groups, clinics and health systems, with no trial clock or visit limits, a custom contract and a BAA. |
Evidence
Abridge
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name Abridge.
- Enhancing clinical documentation with ambient artificial intelligence: a quality improvement survey assessing clinician perspectives on work burden, burnout, and job satisfaction. (opens in new tab)
- Ambient listening implementation in primary care and changes in electronic health record documentation metrics: Pre-post study of an ambient listening tool. (opens in new tab)
- Crossover Evaluation of Two Ambient AI Scribe Tools in the Emergency Department. (opens in new tab)
Community
22 posts sourced: 4 positive, 16 neutral, 2 negative.
ScribeMD
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Abridge | ScribeMD |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, Cerner, Athena | Epic, Cerner, athenahealth, Veradigm |
| Founded | 2018 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.


