eCART vs KATE
openFDA shows one record for eCART, K233253 from June 2024 with CLEWICU as predicate, and none for Mednition. KATE Sepsis holds a Breakthrough Device Designation from November 2023, a status short of clearance.
An ED nursing director weighing triage help is Mednition's customer. KATE reads EHR data at triage to recommend acuity and flag sepsis risk, and Adventist Health White Memorial is the named hospital. In 2019 the vendor claimed 26.9% higher triage accuracy overall there, with the study then in peer review, and a 2025 Int Emerg Nurs descriptive study of pre-eclampsia identification at triage had two Mednition employees among its authors.
Ward leadership is eCART's: the clearance covers hospitalized ward patients 18 and older and the composite outcome of death or ICU transfer, which puts triage outside its indication. Neither vendor names an EHR.
Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
eCART
- Cleared ward scoring against predicate CLEWICU
- Pathway order sets alongside the score
KATE
- ED triage acuity recommendation from EHR data
- Sepsis flag at triage, Breakthrough designation
- Adventist Health White Memorial named as customer
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
eCART
56of 100
KATE
12of 100
| Dimension | eCART | KATE | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 12 / 12 | 0 / 12 | +12 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 10 / 10 | 0 / 10 | +10 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 21 / 21 | 0 / 21 | +21 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 0 / 9 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 1.3 / 2.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
eCART
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. There is no pricing page; the site offers a demo request only. |
KATE
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Evidence
eCART
FDA decisions
K233253 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-06-21
eCARTv5 Clinical Deterioration Suite (eCART)
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name eCART.
- Early Warning Scores With and Without Artificial Intelligence. (opens in new tab)
- Multicenter Development and Prospective Validation of eCARTv5: A Gradient Boosted Machine Learning Early Warning Score. (opens in new tab)
- DETERIO-LLM: enhancing traditional deterioration risk scores with clinical context and advanced reasoning. (opens in new tab)
KATE
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | eCART | KATE |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2014 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.


