MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Kardia 12L vs PERISCOPE

PERISCOPE predicts postoperative bacterial infection risk at 7 and 30 days from existing EHR data, and a surgical department is the buyer. Healthplus.ai B.V. in Amsterdam states CE marking as a Class IIa device under EU MDR, plus ISO 13485 and ISO 27001, and makes no FDA claim. Models are fitted per hospital, and the vendor puts implementation at 8 to 12 weeks. A PubMed search finds one paper on it, a retrospective multicentre study in the Netherlands and Belgium covering 253,010 procedures, with 30-day AUROC of 0.82, 0.82 and 0.91 at three hospitals and two authors from the vendor. Kardia 12L is an ECG recorder from AliveCor, which carries 19 FDA 510(k) numbers across its line and announced a European launch for the 12L in April 2026. A cardiology clinic buys that device. The two answer different clinical questions, infection after surgery for one and heart rhythm for the other.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Kardia 12L logo

Kardia 12L

by AliveCor

Portable 12-lead ECG device with FDA-cleared AI interpretation, sold to clinicians with KardiaPro patient management access.

PERISCOPE logo

PERISCOPE

by Healthplus.ai

PERISCOPE predicts postoperative bacterial infection risk 7 and 30 days after surgery from EHR data.

When to pick each one

Kardia 12L

  • 19 FDA 510(k) numbers across the AliveCor line
  • Europe launch announced April 2026
Read the full Kardia 12L review

PERISCOPE

  • Postoperative infection risk at 7 and 30 days
  • Vendor states CE marking, ISO 13485 and ISO 27001
  • 8 to 12 weeks typical implementation
Read the full PERISCOPE review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Kardia 12L

38of 100

Competitive

PERISCOPE

15of 100

Tracked
Score by dimension for Kardia 12L and PERISCOPE
DimensionKardia 12LPERISCOPEDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA10 / 100 / 10+10
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 218.4 / 21-8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 90 / 90
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Kardia 12L

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Kardia 12Ln/an/aIncludes the device, KardiaStation app, KardiaPro access and a 3-year warranty, with a 90-day return policy. Two-week trial for eligible U.S. HCPs by form. The page does not state whether the price is one-time or recurring.

PERISCOPE

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Kardia 12L

FDA decisions

Show 14 more

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecKardia 12LPERISCOPE
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSNL

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.