AMA Ed Hub vs AMBOSS
The AMA lists 8,000+ activities on Ed Hub, 4,000+ of them CME, from the AMA, JAMA Network and partners. AMA members get CME free, and non-members can subscribe at $399.99 per year through JN Learning. The AI-in-Health-Care series, 7 modules worth up to 3.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits, is free to everyone. AMBOSS is exam prep plus clinical reference, at $19.99 per month for students and residents, $448 for the first year with the Qbank bundle, and $29.99 per month for clinicians.
A practicing physician logging CME hours and wanting AI literacy signs up on Ed Hub. A student with a Step date subscribes to AMBOSS.
Ed Hub describes no board-exam prep, which rules it out for a student preparing for Step 1. A physician who needs CME credit gets none from AMBOSS, which lists no CME.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

AMA Ed Hub
by American Medical Association
AMA's CME platform: 8,000+ activities from the AMA, JAMA Network and partners, including a free AI-in-Health-Care module series.

AMBOSS
by AMBOSS
AI-tutored medical reference + QBank with Anki integration.
When to pick each one
AMA Ed Hub
- AMA members get CME free
- Free 7-module AI in Health Care series
AMBOSS
- Step and shelf Qbank plus library
- Students $19.99 per month, clinicians $29.99
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
AMA Ed Hub
42of 100
AMBOSS
61of 100
| Dimension | AMA Ed Hub | AMBOSS | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 2.8 / 7 | -2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
AMA Ed Hub
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free account / AI series | n/a | n/a | A free account is available, and the AMA ChangeMedEd Artificial Intelligence in Health Care Series (7 modules) is free to everyone. |
| AMA member | n/a | n/a | AMA members get free CME on Ed Hub. |
| Non-member subscription (JN Learning) | n/a | $399.99 | From a search summary of the Ed Hub subscriptions page. Not fetched directly. Individual paid courses vary. |
AMBOSS
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student / resident, monthly | per month, auto-renews monthly | $19.99 | Library plus 50 Qbank questions per month |
Show all 9 price pointsHide extra price points
| Student / resident, yearly | per year, auto-renews yearly | $149 | shown as $12.50 per month billed yearly. The page advertises SAVE $89.88, and against twelve monthly payments of $19.99 ($239.88) the gap is $90.88 |
| Yearly plus Qbank bundle | per year. Membership then renews at $149 | $448 | marked Most Popular |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, US page | 6 months, one-time | $378 | price shown on the US USMLE page. The international page shows $358. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, international page | 6 months, one-time | $358 | price shown on the international USMLE page. The US page shows $378. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| Student Life | one-time | $1,199 | through end of PGY-1. Includes Qbank, Library, self-assessments, Score Predictor |
| Self-assessment | per assessment, one-time | $49.99 | free with Student Life |
| Clinician, monthly | per month | $29.99 | practitioner plan |
| Clinician, yearly | per year | $259 | practitioner plan. The pricing page shows $21.58 per month billed yearly |
Verified October 14, 2026 from amboss.com (opens in new tab).
Evidence
AMA Ed Hub
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
AMBOSS
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names AMBOSS.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | AMA Ed Hub | AMBOSS |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | US | DE |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
