MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ambience Healthcare vs Freed

Freed lists $39 per month for up to 40 notes, $79 for unlimited notes and $119 for Premier, or $104 billed annually, which adds EHR push to browser-based EHRs. Each card shows two numbers, and third-party roundups read $39, $79 and $119 as the prices. A seven-day trial is listed. Trainees can ask for a free Core plan or 50% off the monthly individual plan, and the page does not reconcile the two. Ambience offers none of that. It routes visitors to a demo booking, sells to enterprise health systems, and carries third-party estimates of $233 to $417 per provider per month on an annual contract plus a one-time implementation fee. What it adds is Epic built into Hyperspace and Haiku, coding, and documentation-gap checks. Freed's pages name no Epic integration, so an Epic health system should look elsewhere. A four-person independent family practice buys Freed. Its evidence is Reddit, where family physicians report smooth notes and one notes bullets instead of paragraphs, and its privacy page lists SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Ambience Healthcare logo

Ambience Healthcare

by Ambience Healthcare · founded 2020

Ambient clinical documentation, documentation-gap checks and coding for health systems.

Freed logo

Freed

by Freed AI · founded 2022

Ambient AI scribe for independent practices, with a coding assistant, clinical evidence answers and an AI front desk.

When to pick each one

Ambience Healthcare

  • Deployed through Epic Toolbox
  • Fees tied to outcomes, quote only
Read the full Ambience Healthcare review

Freed

  • $39 to $119 per month, self-serve
  • Trainee discount or free Core, on request
Read the full Freed review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ambience Healthcare

30of 100

Competitive

Freed

33of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Ambience Healthcare and Freed
DimensionAmbience HealthcareFreedDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA13 / 137.8 / 13+5.2
EHR integrations (count)0 / 210 / 210
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 120 / 120
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency0 / 55 / 5-5
Years in market4.2 / 64.2 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ambience Healthcare

Quote only, no public price.

Freed

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
Starterper month$391 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price
Coreper month$79unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price
Premier, monthly billingper month, billed monthly$119the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier
Premier, annual billingper month, billed annually$104annual reading of the toggle, per third parties
Front Deskper month, starting at$149Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo

Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai (opens in new tab).

Evidence

Ambience Healthcare

Community

1 post sourced: 0 positive, 1 neutral, 0 negative.

Freed

Community

11 posts sourced: 3 positive, 8 neutral, 0 negative.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecAmbience HealthcareFreed
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAAYesYes
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20202022
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.