- Attested
- Not disclosed
- —
- 2022
- US

Freed
by Freed AI · founded 2022 · US
Ambient AI scribe for independent practices, with a coding assistant, clinical evidence answers and an AI front desk.
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance7.8/25
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- Clinical Integration0/38.2
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/10
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market12.6/18
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency10.7/14
Sentiment 64/100 across 11 mentions
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/12
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA8/13
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- EHR integrations (count)0/21
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/12
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/5
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers0/7
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/3
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal8/12
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market4/6
Founded 2022 (4 years)
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)6/9
Sentiment 64/100 across 11 mentions
- Pricing transparency5/5
Prices listed publicly
Public pricing + self-service onboarding + HIPAA-attested.
No enterprise IT required. Works with Epic, Athena, eClinicalWorks via browser. 7-day free trial. As of October 2026 plans run $59 (Starter, 40 notes a month, $39 on promo), $79 (Core, unlimited notes) and $119 monthly or $104 billed annually (Premier). Twofold ($69 monthly, $49 billed annually) and Sunoh ($149 per user) are the other public prices.
Bottom line
Freed is an ambient AI scribe built for independent practices and solo clinicians. It turns a recorded visit into a note, with a Chrome extension that pushes the note into browser-based EHRs. Pricing starts at $39 a month. It fits a private-practice physician or a therapist who does not have an enterprise IT department. A large health system on Epic, or a clinician whose visits are long and multi-problem, should check the alternatives first.
Freed pricing in 2026: what it actually costs
Freed lists three individual plans: Starter at $39 per month (capped at 40 notes), Core at $79 per month with unlimited notes, and Premier at $119 per month or $104 on annual billing (as of October 2026). The pricing page shows two numbers per tier without saying which is struck out, so the assignment comes from third-party reads. A 7-day trial needs no credit card.
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | per month | $39 | 1 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price |
| Core | per month | $79 | unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price |
| Premier, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $119 | the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier |
| Premier, annual billing | per month, billed annually | $104 | annual reading of the toggle, per third parties |
| Front Desk | per month, starting at | $149 | Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo |
- 7-day free trial: Try Freed risk-free for 7 days. No credit card needed. (getfreed.ai)
- Students and trainees: 50% off the monthly individual plan with proof, by emailing support@getfreed.ai. The page also links Get Core for free for residents and students. The two statements conflict and the page does not explain how. (getfreed.ai)
- Groups: Custom pricing, Talk to sales. (getfreed.ai)
What is not in the Freed list price?
Each tier shows two numbers, for example "$59 and $39/mo" for Starter, and the page does not say which one is struck out. Third parties read $39 as the sale price over $59. Promo pricing can end, so the lower figure is not a promise.
The cap is the other catch. Starter allows up to 40 notes per month, which one physician seeing 20 patients a day uses up in two days (2 x 20, arithmetic). Core removes the cap. EHR push sits on the top tier, Premier, so if the note must land in the chart without a copy and paste, price $104 to $119 and not $79.
Freed's older flat $90 to $99 individual plan has reportedly disappeared in a 2026 restructure, according to a Commure review. Old blog posts that quote it are stale.
For a two-clinician practice, arithmetic only: 2 x $79 x 12 is $1,896 a year on Core, and 2 x $104 x 12 is $2,496 on Premier at the annual reading. Groups are custom, so a real group quote may differ.
Is Freed worth it?
Yes as the first scribe to trial, because it publishes prices, gives 7 days without a card and needs no sales call. Buy Core, not Starter, because the 40-note cap turns Starter into a trial. Move to Premier only if your EHR needs the push. Skip Freed if your health system already picked an enterprise scribe, and compare it against Heidi Health and Sunoh.ai before committing. The wider field is in our best AI scribes guide.
The refund policy is not stated. Test it on the trial before an annual payment. Students and residents should read the discount terms first, because the page lists both a 50% offer and a free Core link.
Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai.
What is Freed and who sells it?
Freed Inc. is a San Francisco company with a mailing address at 548 Market Street, and some data sites list Santa Rosa. Erez Druk is the CEO and Andrey Bannikov the CTO according to third-party coverage. The founding year appears as 2022 or 2023 depending on the source.
Freed announced a US$30M Series A on 5 March 2025, led by Sequoia Capital with Scale Venture Partners and several angels (company blog post). A $4M seed round in November 2023 is reported by Sacra, a third party. The vendor claims more than 26,000 clinicians and 1,300 clinics on its homepage.
What does it do?
The core product writes notes from patient conversations using specialty templates, and a "learn my format" function adapts the output to your style. Around it sit dictation and saved phrases, patient instructions and letters, visit prep, an ICD-10, E/M and CPT coding assistant, and clinical-evidence answers drawn from what Freed calls 50-plus trusted sources. A separate Front Desk product, an AI receptionist, is sold on its own terms.
The EHR push extension works with browser-based systems including SimplePractice, Practice Fusion, Tebra, Elation, TherapyNotes, athenahealth, Optimantra, Kipu, Aarista and DrChrono, according to the vendor, and it is available on the Premier tier only. No native Epic integration is stated. The Groups tier adds MA seats, note sharing, single sign-on, admin dashboards and a dedicated account manager.
What about privacy and security?
Freed's privacy page says it is HIPAA and HITECH compliant, signs a business associate agreement covering the whole organisation for enterprise customers, holds SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 certification, and uses AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 to 1.3 in transit. These are vendor statements.
The page contradicts itself on audio. The blog says audio is deleted after the note is generated, while the FAQ says it is stored temporarily until quality checks finish. Ask which applies before you sign. HITRUST and FDA status are not stated, and a scribe is generally not a regulated device.
What do clinicians say?
No peer-reviewed study of Freed exists. The five papers that a PubMed search for the name returns are unrelated, such as a falls-reduction trial in elderly ED patients that happens to be abbreviated FREED.
Clinician posts are mixed. A poster on r/FamilyMedicine (June 2025) called it "very basic but I think that's the point", and said it fell short on more complex visits, at a time when the plan cost $99 a month. Another on r/FamilyMedicine (July 2025) found it "very smooth" with documentation quality "much better than I had expected". A poster on r/emergencymedicine (October 2024) liked the interface and called the accuracy very good but said note creation is sometimes slow. A December 2025 post described switching from Twofold, which had 3 to 5 minute lags, to Freed, and being happy. A January 2026 post said the free tier handled fast speech and interruptions better than its alternatives but still produced bullets and not paragraphs.
A G2 reviewer in July 2026 said the "less verbose" option still produces very long notes and that a review-of-systems feature was removed in the latest update. Competitor blogs, such as one from Marvix, claim style drift on dense visits, and they have an obvious bias.
How much does Freed cost?
Freed's Starter plan is $39 per month for one clinician and up to 40 notes. Core is $79 per month with unlimited notes, a template builder and the clinical-evidence feature, and Premier is $119 per month or $104 on annual billing, adding EHR push, coding, patient letters and dictation. Groups are quote only.
Prices are from getfreed.ai/pricing as of October 2026, and promotional prices on the page change. A 7-day trial needs no credit card. Students and trainees can get 50% off the monthly individual plan with proof, and the page also links a free Core offer for residents and students without saying how the two relate. No refund policy is stated, so ask in writing before paying for a year. Front Desk costs $149 a month per block of 250 calls and is separate from the scribe.
How does it compare?
Heidi, Nabla, Twofold, Sully and Scribeberry compete at the self-serve end, and Abridge, Suki, DAX Copilot and Commure at the enterprise end. Freed's EHR push covers browser-based systems, so large health systems on Epic will find the enterprise products a closer fit.
The verdict
A solo physician on a browser-based EHR can run the 7-day trial on real visits and decide on Core at $79. If your notes need dense paragraphs for multi-problem visits, test that case first. Anyone on Epic should look at the enterprise scribes.
Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What deploys cleanly
Carries HIPAA per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.
Who builds it
Freed (Freed AI) was founded in 2022 in US, putting it 4 years into market.
What clinicians say about Freed
Aggregated from 11 public clinician mentions. We quote with attribution under fair-use commentary.
Aggregated sentiment from 11 public mentions
- leaning positive
- 27%
- 0.24
- Reddit·11
- note-quality7
- ease-of-use4
- latency2
- workflow2
- pricing1
- time-savings1
- accuracy1
- free-tier1
- 01dead simple to use
- 02good output for simple visits
- 03smooth interface
- 04well-designed clean intuitive interface
- 05good documentation quality; picks up nuances
- 01not much flexibility
- 02few templates
- 03not robust enough for complex cases
- 04pricey ($99 a month)
- 05processing delays up to 5-6 minutes during peak hours
“Providers using AI transcription for charting how has your experience been Does it actually save time and were there any pitfalls when you first started I’ll be starting soon in general medicine outpatient and am curious about others’ experiences EDIT: I tried Twofold and ran into real time lags of 3-5 minutes and style adaptation needed a lot of tweaks. I am now trying Freed a…”
“AI scribes anyone? As far as I can tell, the last discussion on this was 8 months ago. I tried GetFreed for a while. But I was really only using it for the HPI and I can legit type that out while the patient is talking. Wondering how far AI scribing has come and if it is worth trying out again. What are you all using?”
Summarized from 11 public clinician mentions. We quote with attribution under fair-use commentary and never republish full reviews. See our editorial methodology for source weights.
Common questions about Freed
Answers below cover the most-searched clinician questions for Freed in 2026. Updated as vendor docs and pricing change.
Articles mentioning Freed
Suki pricing in 2026: what practices and health systems actually pay
Suki publishes no price. Third parties report $299 to $399 per user per month, and $350 to $500+ on enterprise contracts, as of October 2026.
Ambience Healthcare pricing in 2026: what health systems actually pay
Ambience publishes no price and ties its fees to outcomes. Third-party estimates run about $233 to $417 per provider per month, as of October 2026.
Abridge pricing in 2026: what health systems actually pay
Abridge publishes no price. Third-party estimates run from about $208 to $600 per clinician per month, plus implementation, as of October 2026.


