AMBOSS vs Complete Anatomy
Gross anatomy is where Complete Anatomy earns its price: female and male 3D models, muscle movement, 1,500+ videos, radiology cross sections and augmented reality, at $74.99 per year for students ($39.99 in the first year, then full price) and $99.99 per year for professionals. Elsevier has owned its maker, 3D4Medical, since November 2019. AMBOSS covers the exams that follow, with a Qbank for Step 1, Step 2 CK, Step 3 and shelf exams, a medical library and an Anki add-on, at $19.99 per month or $12.50 per month billed yearly.
A dissection-lab student wants Complete Anatomy. An M3 studying for shelf exams finds no question bank in its feature list. AMBOSS has one, plus an AI Mode that builds Qbank sessions from uploaded course files, a vendor claim. Complete Anatomy offers a 3-day trial without payment details. AMBOSS gives 5 days free and a 30-day money-back guarantee on purchases made directly.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

AMBOSS
by AMBOSS
AI-tutored medical reference + QBank with Anki integration.

Complete Anatomy
by 3D4Medical Ltd.
3D anatomy platform with female and male models, muscle movement, courses, radiology cross sections and augmented reality.
When to pick each one
AMBOSS
- Qbank for Step 1, Step 2 CK, Step 3, shelf
- $19.99 per month, or $12.50 billed yearly
- 30-day money-back on direct purchases
Complete Anatomy
- 3D models, muscle movement, 1,500+ videos
- Student $74.99 per year, $39.99 first year
- Radiology cross sections and augmented reality
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
AMBOSS
61of 100
Complete Anatomy
42of 100
| Dimension | AMBOSS | Complete Anatomy | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 2.8 / 7 | 0 / 7 | +2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 12 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | +3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
AMBOSS
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student / resident, monthly | per month, auto-renews monthly | $19.99 | Library plus 50 Qbank questions per month |
Show all 9 price pointsHide extra price points
| Student / resident, yearly | per year, auto-renews yearly | $149 | shown as $12.50 per month billed yearly. The page advertises SAVE $89.88, and against twelve monthly payments of $19.99 ($239.88) the gap is $90.88 |
| Yearly plus Qbank bundle | per year. Membership then renews at $149 | $448 | marked Most Popular |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, US page | 6 months, one-time | $378 | price shown on the US USMLE page. The international page shows $358. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, international page | 6 months, one-time | $358 | price shown on the international USMLE page. The US page shows $378. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| Student Life | one-time | $1,199 | through end of PGY-1. Includes Qbank, Library, self-assessments, Score Predictor |
| Self-assessment | per assessment, one-time | $49.99 | free with Student Life |
| Clinician, monthly | per month | $29.99 | practitioner plan |
| Clinician, yearly | per year | $259 | practitioner plan. The pricing page shows $21.58 per month billed yearly |
Verified October 14, 2026 from amboss.com (opens in new tab).
Complete Anatomy
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student | n/a | $74.99 | $39.99 in the first year, then the full price. 3-day trial without payment details. |
| Professional | n/a | $99.99 | Annual. A Patient Education License exists for professional use. |
| Institution | n/a | n/a | Contact sales. No public price. |
Evidence
AMBOSS
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names AMBOSS.
Complete Anatomy
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | AMBOSS | Complete Anatomy |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | DE | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
