AMBOSS vs Picmonic
AMBOSS sells to clinicians and residents as well as students, and Picmonic describes itself as a study aid for medical school, nursing school and more. A PGY-1 who wants a reference on call and a Qbank for Step 3 buys AMBOSS at the resident membership, $19.99 per month or $12.50 per month billed yearly ($149), with 50 Qbank questions a month included and the full Qbank billed separately. The Step 3 page cites 2,250+ questions and a score predictor. A clinician pays $29.99 per month for the clinician plan. Picmonic sells to a first-year medical or nursing student who remembers through characters, in videos of 2 to 4 minutes.
Picmonic lists 10,000+ multiple-choice questions and quotes about $180 per year for its Medicine (USMLE 1 and 2) plan on its own comparison page (March 2025, 2026 price unconfirmed). AMBOSS's pricing page shows 13,000+ Qbank questions, and its yearly membership plus Qbank bundle costs $448 in the first year. On price for that student, AMBOSS is the weaker buy. Picmonic is the wrong buy for a resident who wants a reference on call, since its pages describe a study aid.
Medical education · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
AMBOSS
- Step 1 to Step 3 Qbank plus clinical library
- Resident plan $19.99 monthly, $12.50 billed yearly
- Anki add-on builds Qbank sessions from mistakes
Picmonic
- Story mnemonic videos of 2 to 4 minutes
- 10,000+ multiple-choice questions with spaced repetition
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
AMBOSS
61of 100
Picmonic
36of 100
| Dimension | AMBOSS | Picmonic | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 2.8 / 7 | 0 / 7 | +2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 12 / 12 | 6 / 12 | +6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
AMBOSS
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student / resident, monthly | per month, auto-renews monthly | $19.99 | Library plus 50 Qbank questions per month |
Show all 9 price pointsHide extra price points
| Student / resident, yearly | per year, auto-renews yearly | $149 | shown as $12.50 per month billed yearly. The page advertises SAVE $89.88, and against twelve monthly payments of $19.99 ($239.88) the gap is $90.88 |
| Yearly plus Qbank bundle | per year. Membership then renews at $149 | $448 | marked Most Popular |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, US page | 6 months, one-time | $378 | price shown on the US USMLE page. The international page shows $358. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, international page | 6 months, one-time | $358 | price shown on the international USMLE page. The US page shows $378. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| Student Life | one-time | $1,199 | through end of PGY-1. Includes Qbank, Library, self-assessments, Score Predictor |
| Self-assessment | per assessment, one-time | $49.99 | free with Student Life |
| Clinician, monthly | per month | $29.99 | practitioner plan |
| Clinician, yearly | per year | $259 | practitioner plan. The pricing page shows $21.58 per month billed yearly |
Verified October 14, 2026 from amboss.com (opens in new tab).
Picmonic
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medicine (USMLE 1 and 2), 12 months | n/a | $180 | About $180 per year per Picmonic's own comparison page (updated March 2025). The 2026 price is not confirmed on a live page. picmonic.com/pricing shows no figures. Other programs have separate pages. |
| Medicine (USMLE 1 and 2), 24 months | n/a | n/a | Per Picmonic's own comparison page (updated March 2025). |
Evidence
AMBOSS
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names AMBOSS.
Picmonic
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | AMBOSS | Picmonic |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | DE | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.


