AMBOSS vs SketchyMedical
Twelve months costs nearly the same on both: $449.99 for Sketchy All access and $448 for the AMBOSS yearly membership with Qbank, which renews at $149. Sketchy's first pricing block lists $349.99 for 6 months and $649.99 for 24 months, and Cases only is $119.99 for 12 months.
A second-year student who is weak on microbiology and pharmacology and has not had luck with flashcards is Sketchy's clearest buyer: the visual-mnemonic lessons come with a QBank and interactive patient cases, and a student blog recommends its micro and pharm lessons. AMBOSS suits an intern on a hospital service who wants the library, which the vendor positions as a clinical companion, and a clinician plan exists at $29.99 per month. A resident wanting a bedside reference should skip Sketchy, which has no reference library. Both offer a trial, 7 days free at Sketchy and 5 at AMBOSS.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

AMBOSS
by AMBOSS
AI-tutored medical reference + QBank with Anki integration.

SketchyMedical
by Sketchy Group LLC
Visual-mnemonic lessons, QBank and interactive patient cases for medical, PA, NP, MCAT and nursing students.
When to pick each one
AMBOSS
- Library beside the Qbank, 30-day money-back
- Clinician plan at $29.99 per month
- 5 days free, Anki add-on
SketchyMedical
- Visual-mnemonic lessons for micro and pharm
- All access $449.99 for 12 months
- Interactive patient cases, 7 days free
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
AMBOSS
61of 100
SketchyMedical
53of 100
| Dimension | AMBOSS | SketchyMedical | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 2.8 / 7 | 0 / 7 | +2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 12 / 12 | 12 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
AMBOSS
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student / resident, monthly | per month, auto-renews monthly | $19.99 | Library plus 50 Qbank questions per month |
Show all 9 price pointsHide extra price points
| Student / resident, yearly | per year, auto-renews yearly | $149 | shown as $12.50 per month billed yearly. The page advertises SAVE $89.88, and against twelve monthly payments of $19.99 ($239.88) the gap is $90.88 |
| Yearly plus Qbank bundle | per year. Membership then renews at $149 | $448 | marked Most Popular |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, US page | 6 months, one-time | $378 | price shown on the US USMLE page. The international page shows $358. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, international page | 6 months, one-time | $358 | price shown on the international USMLE page. The US page shows $378. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| Student Life | one-time | $1,199 | through end of PGY-1. Includes Qbank, Library, self-assessments, Score Predictor |
| Self-assessment | per assessment, one-time | $49.99 | free with Student Life |
| Clinician, monthly | per month | $29.99 | practitioner plan |
| Clinician, yearly | per year | $259 | practitioner plan. The pricing page shows $21.58 per month billed yearly |
Verified October 14, 2026 from amboss.com (opens in new tab).
SketchyMedical
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical, All access, 6 months | n/a | n/a | Total $349.99. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial. The tab-to-price mapping is inferred from page order. |
| Medical, All access, 12 months | n/a | $449.99 | Marked most popular. Lessons, QBank and interactive patient cases. |
| Medical, All access, 24 months | n/a | n/a | Total $649.99. |
| Medical, Cases only, 12 months | n/a | $119.99 | Interactive patient cases only. The 1-month price is $19.99 per month. |
Evidence
AMBOSS
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names AMBOSS.
SketchyMedical
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | AMBOSS | SketchyMedical |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | DE | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
