MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Anumana vs Epic Sepsis Model

The Epic Sepsis Model scores adult inpatients and ED patients inside the EHR every 15 minutes, with alert thresholds set by each hospital and no separate published price. Michigan Medicine's 2021 validation of 38,455 hospitalizations found an AUROC of 0.63 and 67% of sepsis cases missed. A 2026 prospective study across four US systems tested the updated version and reported AUROC 0.82 to 0.92 with a positive predictive value of 0.13 to 0.26. openFDA lists no clearance for the Epic Sepsis Model, and K260008 covers Epic's separate Deterioration Index.

Anumana's buyer is a health system's cardiology department. The company's ECG-AI algorithms for low ejection fraction, pulmonary hypertension and cardiac amyloidosis each went through FDA 510(k) clearance, and they read standard 12-lead ECGs. Epic's model is delivered within the Epic license to hospitals that want a sepsis alert. A hospital that requires an FDA clearance before switching an alert on has to look at another sepsis tool.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Anumana logo

Anumana

by Anumana

ECG-AI software that flags low ejection fraction, pulmonary hypertension and cardiac amyloidosis from standard 12-lead ECGs.

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

When to pick each one

Anumana

  • Three ECG-AI conditions, each FDA-cleared
  • Runs on standard 12-lead ECGs
Read the full Anumana review

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Built into Epic, delivered within Epic licensing
  • Validated in four US health systems in 2026
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Anumana

37of 100

Competitive

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Anumana and Epic Sepsis Model
DimensionAnumanaEpic Sepsis ModelDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 99 / 9-9
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Anumana

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. The pricing page returns 404; the site offers a demo request only.

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecAnumanaEpic Sepsis Model
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.