Aura AI Scribe vs Medwriter
Medwriter's page lists Allscripts, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie and IntakeQ, and it drafts referral, prior authorization and denial letters. Its EHR integration sits on a Pro tier priced "Reach Out" and runs through a Chrome extension. Its terms say users must validate every output. Aura's vendor announcements cite an Epic Toolbox listing from October 2025 and an athenahealth Marketplace listing, so athenahealth is common ground. Aura's Team tier, at $79.99 per clinician per month, adds EHR integration. An outpatient practice on AdvancedMD or Healthie that wants those letters drafted is Medwriter's audience. Epic clinics are Aura's, on the strength of the announced listing. Price settles it for a solo clinician. Aura has a Free tier at $0 (free notes are deleted after 21 days) and Pro at $39.99 per month, while Medwriter Standard costs $99 per user per month, currency not stated. Medwriter is the loser on that gap alone.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Aura AI Scribe
by Insight Health AI
Ambient AI scribe that drafts specialty-aware clinical notes in real time, with ICD-10 and CPT coding suggestions on paid tiers.
Medwriter
by S7Labs, LLC
AI scribe for outpatient clinicians that drafts notes, codes and letters from live recordings.
When to pick each one
Aura AI Scribe
- Free tier at $0, Pro at $39.99 per month
- Epic Toolbox and athenahealth Marketplace listings announced
- Standard BAA on every tier
Medwriter
- Drafts referral, prior authorization and denial letters
- Lists AdvancedMD, Healthie and IntakeQ
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Aura AI Scribe
42of 100
Medwriter
37of 100
| Dimension | Aura AI Scribe | Medwriter | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 6.3 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -4.2 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 8.4 / 12 | 4.8 / 12 | +3.6 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Aura AI Scribe
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free Forever | per month | Free | per clinician, no card. Templates, pre-charting, after-visit documents, Magic Edit and standard BAA. Free notes are deleted after 21 days. |
| Pro, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $39.99 | per clinician, billed monthly. Adds auto-templates, ICD-10 and CPT coding and chat support. Struck-through list price $49.99 per month. No sale end date shown. |
| Pro, annual billing | per year, billed annually | $480 | per clinician, billed annually, $480 per year. Struck-through list price $600 per year. No sale end date shown. |
| Team, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $79.99 | per clinician, billed monthly. Adds seat management, enhanced onboarding and EHR integration. Struck-through list price $99.99 per month. No sale end date shown. |
| Team, annual billing | per year, billed annually | $960 | per clinician, billed annually, $960 per year. Struck-through list price $1,200 per year. No sale end date shown. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom quote, custom BAA and volume discounts with the AI suite. |
Verified November 2, 2026 from insighthealth.ai (opens in new tab).
Medwriter
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $99 | n/a | Unlimited sessions, template library, hint words and additional document drafting. No credit card required, cancel anytime. Trial length and refund not stated. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | The Pro tier is listed as "Reach Out" with no price. It adds custom templates, EHR integration through a Chrome extension and E/M coding suggestions. No public price. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Aura AI Scribe | Medwriter |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, athenahealth | Allscripts, Athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie, IntakeQ |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
