MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Bayesian Health vs Zio

Bayesian Health's sepsis flag was cleared as K250680 on April 30, 2026. The 2022 Nature Medicine study the vendor cites covers TREWS, the Johns Hopkins system the flag descends from, with 764,707 encounters at five hospitals. The vendor's release summarizes it as 18% lower in-hospital mortality when alerts were acted on and 82% sensitivity. The design was observational, and whether the cleared flag matches the TREWS version is open. Inpatient alerts and outpatient monitoring sit in different clinical workflows. iRhythm, a public company with about 2,400 employees, sells Zio as a patch-based arrhythmia monitoring service. The FDA's warning letter of May 25, 2023 said iRhythm changed Zio AT without clearance and marketed it to a new high-risk population, and the FY2025 10-K says FDA issues remain open and a further warning letter, consent decree or recall is possible. A hospital sepsis program looks at Bayesian. A clinic ordering patches for outpatients with suspected arrhythmias looks at Zio.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Bayesian Health logo

Bayesian Health

by Bayesian Health

Sepsis flagging software that monitors EHR data continuously and shows a high-risk flag in the chart. FDA 510(k) cleared April 2026.

ZI

Zio

by iRhythm Technologies · founded 2006

Zio ECG patch service: a deep-learning algorithm flags arrhythmias, cardiac technicians validate them, and a physician report follows.

When to pick each one

Bayesian Health

  • Sepsis flag cleared as K250680 in April 2026
  • TREWS lineage studied in five hospitals, 2022
Read the full Bayesian Health review

Zio

  • Public company with about 2,400 employees
  • Vendor says algorithm available in US, EU, UK, Japan, Switzerland
Read the full Zio review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Bayesian Health

33of 100

Competitive

Zio

69of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Bayesian Health and Zio
DimensionBayesian HealthZioDifference
FDA clearance12 / 1212 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 2121 / 21-12.6
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 99 / 9-9
Funding & adoption signal6 / 128.4 / 12-2.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Bayesian Health

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Zio

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Bayesian Health

FDA decisions

Peer-reviewed

1 PubMed record names Bayesian Health.

Zio

FDA decisions

Show 13 more

Peer-reviewed

5 PubMed records name Zio.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecBayesian HealthZio
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2006
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.