MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

CareBeam vs MedScrub

MedScrub condenses a chart that already exists, while CareBeam creates the encounter documentation, so one buyer seldom has to choose between them. MedScrub states that it strips the 18 HIPAA Safe Harbor identifiers on the clinician's own machine before any model sees the data, then produces overnight summaries, trended labs, flagged open plans and a chart chat. A group that wants charts summarized before clinic starts buys it, at $89 per provider per month (currency not stated) on the 2-to-10 provider plan billed annually. CareBeam captures the visit and drafts SOAP notes, referral letters and after-visit summaries, then suggests ICD-10 and CPT codes. A dietitian group, one of the customer types the vendor lists, gets notes and billing codes from one tool. CareBeam says it integrates with athenahealth and eClinicalWorks, two of the four EHR marketplaces MedScrub lists. MedScrub's solo seat is $99 per month, and a 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofit with a determination letter pays nothing.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

CareBeam logo

CareBeam

by CareBeam Inc

AI documentation, chart auditing and E/M coding for independent and multispecialty practices, from encounter to claim.

MedScrub logo

MedScrub

by 1PuttHealth

Chart summarization and pre-visit prep that runs on a local machine and strips HIPAA identifiers before any model sees the data.

When to pick each one

CareBeam

  • Drafts SOAP notes and referral letters from the visit
  • ICD-10 and CPT suggestions with the note
  • Says it integrates directly with athenahealth and eClinicalWorks
Read the full CareBeam review

MedScrub

  • Overnight chart summaries and trended labs
  • $89 per provider monthly, currency not stated
  • Says it strips 18 HIPAA identifiers locally
Read the full MedScrub review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

CareBeam

34of 100

Competitive

MedScrub

36of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for CareBeam and MedScrub
DimensionCareBeamMedScrubDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA7.8 / 130 / 13+7.8
EHR integrations (count)10.5 / 2110.5 / 210
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)4.8 / 1212 / 12-7.2
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 55 / 5-2.5
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

CareBeam

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Verified November 2, 2026 from trycarebeam.com (opens in new tab).

MedScrub

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Hobbyn/an/aFor developers: 500 credits at sign-up. The page does not label its currency; USD is assumed from the "$" signs.
Solo$99n/aAnnual billing available; the page says it saves $600 a year. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Practice$89n/aFor 2 to 10 providers. Save $480 a year versus monthly. Example: two providers at $178 a month. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Credits 3,000n/an/aDeveloper credit bundle of 3,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Credits 10,000n/an/aDeveloper credit bundle of 10,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Credits 100,000n/an/aDeveloper credit bundle of 100,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Nonprofitn/an/aFree for 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits with a determination letter.
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Custom pricing.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCareBeamMedScrub
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsathenahealth, ModMed, Healthie, eClinicalWorks, Veradigm, GreenwayEpic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.