MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ceribell vs Epic Sepsis Model

Ceribell is bought for point-of-care EEG with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor by ICUs and emergency departments. The vendor says the seizure detection covers all ages, from 25-week preterm neonates through adults. openFDA lists 16 Ceribell records, all substantially equivalent, and 29 PubMed papers name Ceribell.

The Epic model is a sepsis risk score inside the EHR for hospitals that license Epic, with alert thresholds the hospital sets. It does not compete with an EEG recorder. An external validation of version 1 at Michigan Medicine (Wong et al., JAMA Internal Medicine, 2021) covered 38,455 hospitalizations and found a hospitalization-level AUROC of 0.63, with 67 percent of sepsis cases missed while 18 percent of hospitalizations drew an alert. A multicenter prospective validation of version 2 in four US systems (Wong et al., JAMA Network Open, 2026) found encounter-level AUROC of 0.82 to 0.92 and positive predictive value of 0.13 to 0.26, with high institutional variability and a high alert burden.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Ceribell logo

Ceribell

by Ceribell

Point-of-care EEG headband with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor, for hospitals, ICUs and emergency departments.

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

When to pick each one

Ceribell

  • Headband EEG with AI seizure detection and delirium monitor
  • 16 openFDA 510(k) records, all substantially equivalent
  • Infant seizure detection software has its own 510(k)
Read the full Ceribell review

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Sepsis score recalculated every 15 minutes inside Epic
  • Hospital sets its own alert threshold
  • Independent validations in JAMA journals
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ceribell

49of 100

Solid choice

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Ceribell and Epic Sepsis Model
DimensionCeribellEpic Sepsis ModelDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 99 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ceribell

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Purchase terms: one-year initial term, auto-renewing yearly unless 90 days notice.

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Evidence

Ceribell

FDA decisions

Show 11 more

Peer-reviewed

4 PubMed records name Ceribell.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCeribellEpic Sepsis Model
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.