MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ceribell vs Zio

The vendor cites a 2019 Nature Medicine paper by Hannun and colleagues, a deep neural network compared with cardiologists on ambulatory ECGs, as the basis for iRhythm's algorithm. Ceribell's DECIDE study was a multicenter prospective study of rapid-response EEG (Critical Care Medicine, 2020), and the company says it has 45 peer-reviewed publications.

iRhythm sells a Zio patch service to cardiology groups: wear-and-send ECG, cloud arrhythmia detection, technician validation and a physician report, billed to payers through Medicare-enrolled IDTFs, with no public price. Its FY2025 10-K says FDA issues remain open, following a warning letter of May 25, 2023 over a Zio AT change made without clearance and a Form 483 after July 2024 inspections.

Ceribell is bought by hospital neurology services and ICUs that want bedside seizure detection, with recorders ordered under contract. A patch that goes home with a cardiac patient and a headband at an ICU bedside sit on different clinical pathways.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Ceribell logo

Ceribell

by Ceribell

Point-of-care EEG headband with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor, for hospitals, ICUs and emergency departments.

ZI

Zio

by iRhythm Technologies · founded 2006

Zio ECG patch service: a deep-learning algorithm flags arrhythmias, cardiac technicians validate them, and a physician report follows.

When to pick each one

Ceribell

  • Bedside EEG with AI seizure alerts for ICU and ED
  • Delirium monitor cleared in 2025
Read the full Ceribell review

Zio

  • Cardiology patch service billed through Medicare IDTFs
  • Eighteen FDA 510(k) records, latest in 2026
  • Technician review of AI arrhythmia findings
Read the full Zio review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ceribell

49of 100

Solid choice

Zio

69of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Ceribell and Zio
DimensionCeribellZioDifference
FDA clearance12 / 1212 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 99 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ceribell

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Purchase terms: one-year initial term, auto-renewing yearly unless 90 days notice.

Zio

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Ceribell

FDA decisions

Show 11 more

Peer-reviewed

4 PubMed records name Ceribell.

Zio

FDA decisions

Show 13 more

Peer-reviewed

5 PubMed records name Zio.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCeribellZio
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2006
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.