MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ceribell vs KATE

Neurology, ICU and emergency teams are Ceribell's buyers, and emergency department nursing leaders are KATE's. Ceribell's point-of-care EEG gives seizure alerts, and the vendor says its seizure detection covers 25-week preterm infants through adults. KATE gives emergency nurses a triage acuity recommendation and a sepsis risk flag from EHR data.

Ceribell has 16 FDA 510(k) records, among them the Delirium Monitor System cleared on December 8, 2025. For KATE, the FDA item is a Breakthrough Device Designation for KATE Sepsis announced on November 14, 2023, which is a designation and not a clearance. openFDA lists no record under Mednition.

Ceribell's homepage and Clarity page name no EHR, and Mednition's homepage says only that KATE fits an "existing workflow and EMR". Mednition's evidence is a 2019 vendor study claiming triage accuracy up 26.9%, still in peer review when announced, and three PubMed papers by Mednition-employed authors whose product is not named.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Ceribell logo

Ceribell

by Ceribell

Point-of-care EEG headband with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor, for hospitals, ICUs and emergency departments.

KATE logo

KATE

by Mednition · founded 2014

KATE AI recommends emergency department triage acuity and flags sepsis risk from EHR data at triage.

When to pick each one

Ceribell

  • Sixteen FDA 510(k) records, delirium monitor cleared December 2025
  • Bedside EEG with seizure alerts for suspected status epilepticus
Read the full Ceribell review

KATE

  • ED triage acuity and sepsis flag from EHR data
  • Breakthrough designation for KATE Sepsis, not a clearance
Read the full KATE review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ceribell

49of 100

Solid choice

KATE

12of 100

Tracked
Score by dimension for Ceribell and KATE
DimensionCeribellKATEDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 210 / 21+14.7
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 90 / 9+4.5
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ceribell

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Purchase terms: one-year initial term, auto-renewing yearly unless 90 days notice.

KATE

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Ceribell

FDA decisions

Show 11 more

Peer-reviewed

4 PubMed records name Ceribell.

KATE

FDA decisions

No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCeribellKATE
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2014
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.