Chartnote vs Medwriter
Chartnote Max is $99.99 per clinician per month for unlimited notes, subject to its fair-use policy. Medwriter Standard is $99 per user per month for unlimited sessions, in a currency its page does not state, with no credit card needed to start. Medwriter names Allscripts, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie and IntakeQ, and drafts prior authorizations, referral letters and denial letters beyond the note. Its Chrome-extension EHR integration sits on the Pro tier, which has no posted price.
A psychiatry or outpatient practice on Healthie, IntakeQ or Allscripts is Medwriter's buyer. Chartnote's buyer is a clinician on a web-based EMR who uses its Chrome extension, with Pro at $39.99 a month for 100 notes, unlimited Copilot tools and priority support.
Medwriter loses the light-volume clinician: its only posted plan is the flat $99, and Chartnote's Pro tier is sized for 100 notes a month.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Chartnote
- Pro $39.99 monthly, 100 notes, Copilot tools
- Max $99.99 monthly, unlimited under fair use
- Chrome extension for web-based EMRs
Medwriter
- Standard $99 per user monthly, currency not stated
- Lists athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Healthie, IntakeQ
- Drafts prior authorizations and referral letters
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Chartnote
36of 100
Medwriter
37of 100
| Dimension | Chartnote | Medwriter | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -10.5 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 4.8 / 12 | -4.8 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 4.2 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Chartnote
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | per month | Free | per clinician. 15 AI Scribe notes per month, no credit card required |
| Pro | per month | $39.99 | per clinician. Up to 100 AI Scribe notes per month, unlimited Copilot tools, priority support, Free Trial. Monthly toggle shown; yearly price not captured |
| Max | per month | $99.99 | per clinician. Unlimited AI Scribe notes (asterisk: reflects typical full-time use, see fair use policy), up to two 1:1 expert support sessions, Free Trial for first-time subscribers. Monthly toggle shown; yearly price not captured |
Verified November 2, 2026 from chartnote.com (opens in new tab).
Medwriter
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $99 | n/a | Unlimited sessions, template library, hint words and additional document drafting. No credit card required, cancel anytime. Trial length and refund not stated. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | The Pro tier is listed as "Reach Out" with no price. It adds custom templates, EHR integration through a Chrome extension and E/M coding suggestions. No public price. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Chartnote | Medwriter |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Allscripts, Athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie, IntakeQ |
| Founded | 2019 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.

