DeepScribe vs Freed
DeepScribe's homepage headline is "The ambient AI made for oncology," and it adds pre-charting plus E/M, ICD-10 and HCC coding, which makes community oncology groups on OncoEMR or iKnowMed its buyers. It publishes no price. Third-party estimates run $350 to $500 per provider per month on annual contracts plus $500 to $5,000 setup, and some of those estimates come from competitors, Freed among them.
Freed suits an independent practice on SimplePractice, Tebra, Elation or athenahealth. Premier is $119 per month, $104 on the annual toggle, and adds a Chrome extension that pushes notes into browser-based EHRs. Starter is $39 per month but capped at 40 notes. Core, with unlimited notes, is $79 per month by third-party reading, since the page shows two numbers. That makes DeepScribe the loser for a solo family physician paying out of pocket: $79 for unlimited notes against an estimated $350 to $500, with no public trial. A family physician on r/FamilyMedicine (2025) called Freed basic by design and short on complex visits. No native Epic integration is listed, and a January 2026 thread says it outputs bullets rather than paragraphs.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 1, 2026
DeepScribe
by DeepScribe Inc. · founded 2017
Ambient AI scribe made for oncology, with pre-charting and coding support.

Freed
by Freed AI · founded 2022
Ambient AI scribe for independent practices, with a coding assistant, clinical evidence answers and an AI front desk.
When to pick each one
DeepScribe
- Community oncology group on OncoEMR or iKnowMed
- Pre-charting and E/M, ICD-10, HCC coding
- Estimated $350 to $500 per provider monthly
Freed
- Independent practice on a browser-based EHR
- Starter $39 monthly for 40 notes, 7-day trial
- Premier $119 per month adds EHR push and coding
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
DeepScribe
35of 100
Freed
33of 100
| Dimension | DeepScribe | Freed | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 0 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | 0 |
| Clinician sentiment (Reddit) | 5.4 / 9 | 5.7 / 9 | -0.3 |
| Pricing transparency | 0 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -5 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | +1.8 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
DeepScribe
Quote only, no public price.
Freed
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | per month | $39 | 1 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price |
| Core | per month | $79 | unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price |
| Premier, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $119 | the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier |
| Premier, annual billing | per month, billed annually | $104 | annual reading of the toggle, per third parties |
| Front Desk | per month, starting at | $149 | Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai (opens in new tab).
Evidence
DeepScribe
Community
5 posts sourced: 3 positive, 0 neutral, 2 negative.
Freed
Community
11 posts sourced: 3 positive, 8 neutral, 0 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | DeepScribe | Freed |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2017 | 2022 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
