DeepScribe vs Medwriter
MedWriter shows $99 per user per month on its home page, currency not stated, and says no credit card is required. DeepScribe shows no price at all. It takes a demo request, has no self-serve plan or public trial, and third-party estimates, some from competitors, run about $350 to $500 per provider monthly on annual contracts plus setup.
That gap decides it for an outpatient or psychiatry office picking its first scribe, and DeepScribe gets passed over. MedWriter drafts the note, billing and coding suggestions and letters, names athenahealth and eClinicalWorks among its EHRs, and offers a BAA. Its Pro tier adds EHR integration through a Chrome extension, though the page shows that tier as "Reach Out" with no price, so a Pro buyer faces a quote as well.
DeepScribe is the pick for an oncology or urology practice that wants pre-visit SmartPrep charting and E/M, ICD-10 and HCC coding next to the note, and is used to buying through a sales call.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
DeepScribe
by DeepScribe Inc. · founded 2017
Ambient AI scribe made for oncology, with pre-charting and coding support.
Medwriter
by S7Labs, LLC
AI scribe for outpatient clinicians that drafts notes, codes and letters from live recordings.
When to pick each one
DeepScribe
- Oncology-focused ambient scribe
- Pre-visit SmartPrep charting and E/M, ICD-10, HCC coding
Medwriter
- $99 per user monthly, currency not stated
- Chrome extension EHR integration on Pro tier
- BAA offered
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
DeepScribe
35of 100
Medwriter
37of 100
| Dimension | DeepScribe | Medwriter | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -10.5 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 4.8 / 12 | -4.8 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 0 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -5 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
DeepScribe
Quote only, no public price.
Medwriter
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $99 | n/a | Unlimited sessions, template library, hint words and additional document drafting. No credit card required, cancel anytime. Trial length and refund not stated. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | The Pro tier is listed as "Reach Out" with no price. It adds custom templates, EHR integration through a Chrome extension and E/M coding suggestions. No public price. |
Evidence
DeepScribe
Community
5 posts sourced: 3 positive, 0 neutral, 2 negative.
Medwriter
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | DeepScribe | Medwriter |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Allscripts, Athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie, IntakeQ |
| Founded | 2017 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
