MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Empathia AI vs ScribeMD

Empathia AI is a general ambient scribe for US and Canadian clinicians. Its homepage names athenahealth, Accuro, DrChrono, eClinicalWorks, Epic and OSCAR McMaster, and it states HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA and SOC 2 Type II. Premium costs $50 per month billed annually or $75 billed monthly (currency not stated), after a 21-day, 100-encounter trial. Canadian family practices on OSCAR or Accuro are the clinics its pages speak to.

ScribeMD names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth and Veradigm, and says BAAs are in place for HIPAA. Its pricing page lists an Individual doctor tier as "Free forever" with no credit card, though it does not say what that tier limits, and a custom Enterprise contract for groups, clinics and health systems. A US physician group on Epic or Veradigm gets a quote there. Beyond notes, the vendor lists billing automation, a desktop dictation app and an AI Phone Agent.

On athenahealth or Epic, either tool applies, so the choice is Empathia's posted Premium price against ScribeMD's free individual tier or an Enterprise quote.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Empathia AI logo

Empathia AI

by Empathia AI, Inc.

General-purpose ambient AI scribe and documentation platform for US and Canadian clinicians.

ScribeMD logo

ScribeMD

by EE Dojo, Inc.

AI medical scribe that listens to visits, drafts clinical notes and syncs them to the EHR.

When to pick each one

Empathia AI

  • Names OSCAR McMaster, Accuro and eClinicalWorks
  • Premium $50 monthly billed annually, currency not stated
  • HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA stated
Read the full Empathia AI review

ScribeMD

  • Individual doctor tier listed as "Free forever"
  • Desktop dictation app for Mac and Windows
  • Billing automation and AI Phone Agent
Read the full ScribeMD review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Empathia AI

54of 100

Solid choice

ScribeMD

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Empathia AI and ScribeMD
DimensionEmpathia AIScribeMDDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA13 / 1313 / 130
EHR integrations (count)10.5 / 2110.5 / 210
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)8.4 / 1212 / 12-3.6
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency5 / 55 / 50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Empathia AI

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
Free Trialfree trialFree21 days or 100 encounters, all Premium features, no credit card. Pricing page only. The FAQ separately describes a free plan of 10 encounters per 30 days, which the pricing page does not show, so it is not listed here.
Premium, billed annuallyper month, billed annually$50Marked Most Popular. Per month billed annually. Currency not stated on the page, read as USD. Annual price locked for 12 months, cancel anytime. Free for approved medical students and residents. The "Exclusive Offer Extended" banner has no terms or end date.
Premium, billed monthlyper month, billed monthly$75Same Premium tier, billed monthly. Currency not stated on the page, read as USD.

Verified November 2, 2026 from empathia.ai (opens in new tab).

ScribeMD

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Individual doctorn/an/aFree forever, no credit card required. The pricing page does not state what the free tier limits.
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Custom per organization for groups, clinics and health systems, with no trial clock or visit limits, a custom contract and a BAA.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEmpathia AIScribeMD
Free tierYesYes
HIPAAYesYes
SOC 2 Type IIYesYes
EHR integrationsathenahealth, Accuro, DrChrono, eClinicalWorks, Epic, OSCAR McMaster, PlexiaEpic, Cerner, athenahealth, Veradigm
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/an/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.