MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Epic Sepsis Model vs PERISCOPE

The vendor says PERISCOPE gives surgical departments a 7-day and 30-day infection risk from existing EHR data, is CE-marked as a Class IIa device under EU MDR, holds ISO 13485 and ISO 27001, and typically takes 8 to 12 weeks to implement. openFDA holds no Healthplus.ai or PERISCOPE record, and no price is public. The published support is a Lancet Regional Health Europe paper on 253,010 procedures at three hospitals in the Netherlands and Belgium, with 30-day AUROCs of 0.82, 0.82 and 0.91 on temporal validation. Two authors work at Healthplus.ai, and the design was retrospective.

Because one tool predicts infection after surgery and the other flags sepsis onset, a surgical department and an Epic hospital's inpatient units do not buy the same thing. A hospital already on Epic licenses the sepsis model within the EHR for adult inpatients and ED patients, rescored every 15 minutes with alert thresholds the hospital sets.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

PERISCOPE logo

PERISCOPE

by Healthplus.ai

PERISCOPE predicts postoperative bacterial infection risk 7 and 30 days after surgery from EHR data.

When to pick each one

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Scores every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR
  • Hospital sets its own alert thresholds
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

PERISCOPE

  • Infection risk at 7 and 30 days after surgery
  • CE-marked Class IIa, per the vendor
Read the full PERISCOPE review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive

PERISCOPE

15of 100

Tracked
Score by dimension for Epic Sepsis Model and PERISCOPE
DimensionEpic Sepsis ModelPERISCOPEDifference
FDA clearance0 / 120 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 218.4 / 21+12.6
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review9 / 90 / 9+9
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

PERISCOPE

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEpic Sepsis ModelPERISCOPE
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSNL

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.