MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Epic Sepsis Model vs Implicity

A 2023 Europace paper on an AI algorithm for insertable cardiac monitors, written by Implicity authors, covered 546 patients and 879 abnormal episodes and reported 76.0 percent specificity and 98.6 percent sensitivity against an adjudication committee. A second 2023 paper, on alert filtering, also has Implicity authors. The vendor adds that 75 percent of SignalHF alerts before a hospitalization came at least 14 days ahead, a figure from its own press release.

Hospital device clinics that follow patients with implanted devices remotely buy Implicity. It holds K210543 (2021), K230842 for SignalHF (October 2023) and K253463 for the ILR ECG Analyzer (July 2026). Its home page shows five device makers, names no EHR and gives no price.

Epic sites score admitted patients with the Epic Sepsis Model, a different purchase from a device clinic's remote follow-up. In 2021 its first version scored an AUROC of 0.63 at Michigan Medicine and missed two thirds of sepsis cases. The 2026 prospective study of version 2 across four US systems reported AUROC of 0.82 to 0.92 but PPV of 0.13 to 0.26 and a high alert burden.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

IM

Implicity

by Implicity · founded 2016

Cloud platform for remote monitoring of pacemakers and ICDs, with AI alert filtering and heart failure risk scoring for device clinics.

When to pick each one

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Version 2 can be retrained per hospital
  • Alert thresholds set by each hospital
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Implicity

  • Three FDA 510(k) clearances, latest July 2026
  • Abbott, Biotronik, Boston Scientific, Medtronic, MicroPort shown
Read the full Implicity review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive

Implicity

36of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Epic Sepsis Model and Implicity
DimensionEpic Sepsis ModelImplicityDifference
FDA clearance0 / 1212 / 12-12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 218.4 / 21+12.6
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review9 / 90 / 9+9
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Implicity

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEpic Sepsis ModelImplicity
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2016
HQUSFR

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.