MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Epic Sepsis Model vs SimpleSense

Nanowear holds four 510(k) clearances, the latest K232053 for SimpleSense-BP, which estimates blood pressure without a cuff. It sells a cloth garment for heart failure and blood pressure monitoring at home. A prospective internal validation of SimpleSense-BP by Nanowear authors covered 303 subjects over four weeks, and they ask for external validation. The homepage lists no price. Its customer is a cardiology clinic that sends outpatients home wearing it.

The Epic Sepsis Model is a risk score for adult inpatients and ED patients, shown as an alert inside Epic. A 2021 JAMA Internal Medicine validation at Michigan Medicine covered 38,455 hospitalizations. Hospitalization-level AUROC was 0.63, and the model missed 67% of sepsis cases while alerting on 18% of hospitalizations. Epic hospitals get it within Epic licensing, and its pricing is not stated.

An Epic hospital runs the sepsis score on its inpatient wards, while a heart failure program issues the garment to patients at home, so the two sit in different care settings.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

SimpleSense logo

SimpleSense

by Nanowear · founded 2014

Cloth wearable with 510(k) cleared AI cloud analytics for remote cardiac monitoring and cuffless blood pressure.

When to pick each one

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Native to Epic, no separate integration
  • Covers adult inpatients and ED patients
  • Delivered within Epic licensing
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

SimpleSense

  • Four 510(k) clearances, latest K232053
  • Cuffless blood pressure with SimpleSense-BP
  • Wearable garment for home monitoring
Read the full SimpleSense review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive

SimpleSense

49of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Epic Sepsis Model and SimpleSense
DimensionEpic Sepsis ModelSimpleSenseDifference
FDA clearance0 / 1212 / 12-12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 2114.7 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review9 / 94.5 / 9+4.5
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

SimpleSense

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEpic Sepsis ModelSimpleSense
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2014
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.