MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Knowtex vs MedScrub

Knowtex covers more ground than the chart. It records the visit, drafts the note, suggests ICD-10 and E&M codes and also summarizes the EHR with chart Q&A. MedScrub covers one slice. It produces overnight summaries, trended labs and open-plan flags, answers questions about the chart and prepares pre-visit notes, and its site describes no visit recording.

The two do different jobs, so they have different buyers. MedScrub suits a solo clinician or a small group that wants chart prep and cares where the data goes. The vendor says the software runs on the clinician's own machine, strips all 18 HIPAA Safe Harbor identifiers before any model sees the data, and needs no BAA with a model vendor. Solo is $99 a month and Practice, for two to ten providers, is $89 per provider per month billed annually. The page names no currency. Knowtex suits an organization that needs notes, coding and order entry from the encounter itself, and it publishes no price.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Knowtex logo

Knowtex

by Knowtex · founded 2023

Calls itself "The Frontier AI Lab for Healthcare": ambient documentation, coding and billing, and order entry. Prime awardee on a VA ambient scribe contract.

MedScrub logo

MedScrub

by 1PuttHealth

Chart summarization and pre-visit prep that runs on a local machine and strips HIPAA identifiers before any model sees the data.

When to pick each one

Knowtex

  • Visit notes plus coding and order entry
  • Chart summarization and chart Q&A alongside notes
  • Twelve EHRs listed, depth not stated
Read the full Knowtex review

MedScrub

  • Solo plan $99 monthly, currency not stated
  • Runs on the clinician's own machine, vendor-stated
  • Strips 18 HIPAA Safe Harbor identifiers, vendor-stated
Read the full MedScrub review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Knowtex

40of 100

Competitive

MedScrub

36of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Knowtex and MedScrub
DimensionKnowtexMedScrubDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA13 / 130 / 13+13
EHR integrations (count)6.3 / 2110.5 / 21-4.2
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)8.4 / 1212 / 12-3.6
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency0 / 55 / 5-5
Years in market3 / 60 / 6+3

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Knowtex

Quote only, no public price.

MedScrub

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Hobbyn/an/aFor developers: 500 credits at sign-up. The page does not label its currency; USD is assumed from the "$" signs.
Solo$99n/aAnnual billing available; the page says it saves $600 a year. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Practice$89n/aFor 2 to 10 providers. Save $480 a year versus monthly. Example: two providers at $178 a month. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Credits 3,000n/an/aDeveloper credit bundle of 3,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Credits 10,000n/an/aDeveloper credit bundle of 10,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Credits 100,000n/an/aDeveloper credit bundle of 100,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed.
Nonprofitn/an/aFree for 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits with a determination letter.
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Custom pricing.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecKnowtexMedScrub
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsEpic, AthenaEpic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks
Founded2023n/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.