MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic vs Pearl

Optellum sells to pulmonologists and radiology departments running a lung nodule clinic. Its one 510(k), K202300 from March 2021, covers the Virtual Nodule Clinic including the LCP-CNN risk score on lung CT. The reimbursement page lists CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T and puts Medicare's 2026 hospital outpatient rate under APC 1508 at $650.50 (national average, before deductibles). The trust center lists ISO 13485:2016, ISO/IEC 27001 and NHS DSPT.

A general dentist reading bitewings is Pearl's customer. Its first Second Opinion clearance, K210365 from March 2022, marks suspected caries on bitewing and periapical radiographs of permanent teeth in patients 12 and over. A 2025 Diagnostics study of Second Opinion reported 91.0% sensitivity for caries and 86.6% for periapical lesions. A 2026 Caries Research comparison of five commercial systems put secondary caries sensitivity between 0.327 and 0.487 across all of them.

The two sell to different institutions. Optellum names hospital customers such as UConn Health, Penn Medicine and Vanderbilt University Medical Center, and Pearl's pages cite 100+ DSOs and a Smile Brands rollout.

Radiology · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic logo

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic

by Optellum · founded 2016

FDA-cleared AI that scores lung cancer risk for CT lung nodules and tracks them, for pulmonologists and radiology departments.

Pearl logo

Pearl

by Pearl Inc. · founded 2019

FDA-cleared dental x-ray AI (Second Opinion) that marks caries, bone loss and restorations, for dentists and DSOs.

When to pick each one

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic

  • Lung nodule risk score on CT, K202300 March 2021
  • Trust center lists ISO 13485 and ISO 27001
Read the full Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic review

Pearl

  • Caries detection on bitewing and periapical films
  • Three Second Opinion clearances, ages 4, 12 and 19 and over
Read the full Pearl review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic

35of 100

Competitive

Pearl

33of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic and Pearl
DimensionOptellum Virtual Nodule ClinicPearlDifference
FDA clearance18 / 1818 / 180
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 18.20 / 18.20
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 7.80 / 7.80
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 52.5 / 50
Years in market6 / 64.2 / 6+1.8

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Reimbursement fact, not a price: CPT Category III codes 0721T and +0722T; Medicare hospital outpatient APC 1508 rate $650.50 for 2026 (national average, before deductibles).

Pearl

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Optellum Virtual Nodule Clinic

FDA decisions

Pearl

FDA decisions

Show 3 more

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecOptellum Virtual Nodule ClinicPearl
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20162019
HQGBUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full radiology comparison

Acute-care triage, mammography screening, CCTA plaque analysis, mobile MRI. 30+ FDA-cleared platforms across stroke, oncology, cardiac. Enterprise sales only — we compared what's deployed where.