Scholarcy vs Undermind
Undermind's recall figure comes from the vendor: 85% of the 20 most relevant papers in 10 minutes, measured on 23 queries with an LLM judge. Aaron Tay's informal test found 8 of 11 gold-standard papers in the top 10. A fellow opening a scoping review on a new topic is the Undermind buyer, at $16 per month billed annually or on the free tier. Scholarcy suits a resident with a stack of PDFs and a journal club to prepare, at $9.99 per month after a one-week trial or free up to 10 summaries. If those papers are already on the resident's desk, Undermind drops out: $16 per month billed annually pays for a search the resident has finished, while Scholarcy summarizes what is in hand. A third-party review reports weaker Scholarcy accuracy on scanned and non-English papers.
Research tools · Reviewed November 1, 2026
When to pick each one
Scholarcy
- Paid plan at $9.99 per month
- Free tier allows 10 summaries
- Summaries and flashcards from papers you hold
Undermind
- Pro at $16 per month, billed annually
- Reads hundreds of papers and follows citation trails
- Free tier with standard rate limits
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Scholarcy
18of 100
Undermind
41of 100
| Dimension | Scholarcy | Undermind | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 8.4 / 21 | -8.4 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 3 / 6 | -3 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Scholarcy
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | n/a | n/a | Limit of 10 summaries. Flashcards are exported one at a time. |
| Premium, monthly | $9.99 | n/a | 1-week free trial, then billed monthly. Cancel any time. A yearly option exists (about $90 a year per third parties). Institutional licenses are custom. Refund terms are not stated. |
Undermind
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | n/a | n/a | Standard rate limits on chats and searches. |
| Pro | n/a | $192 | The page says annual billing saves 20%. The monthly-billed price is not shown. |
| Team | n/a | $180 | Per person. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Contact us. Adds sitewide login and an admin dashboard. |
Evidence
Scholarcy
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Undermind
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Undermind.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Scholarcy | Undermind |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2023 |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full research tools comparison
Literature search, paper summarization, citation analysis, systematic-review extraction. Consensus and OpenEvidence have absorbed most clinician research traffic in 2026. We compared the full universe.


