- Not disclosed
- Type II
- —
- 2022
- US

Abstractive Health
by Abstractive Health · founded 2022 · US
AI assistant that retrieves outside patient records and writes source-linked summaries, with clinical Q&A for physicians.
On this page
Not rated: too little independent evidence yet.
- Regulatory & Compliance7.8/13
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- Clinical Integration0/38.2
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/10
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market7.2/18
Founded 2022 (4 years)
- Sentiment & Transparency5/5
Prices listed publicly
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA8/13
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- EHR integrations (count)0/21
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/12
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/5
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers0/7
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/3
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal3/12
Seed-stage or unfunded
- Years in market4/6
Founded 2022 (4 years)
- Pricing transparency5/5
Prices listed publicly
AI assistant that retrieves outside patient records and writes source-linked summaries, with clinical Q&A for physicians.
Pricing from from USD 99/mo. SOC 2 Type II attested.
Evidence record
- Score computed November 2, 2026, method 1.2.0
- Pricing verified November 2, 2026
- Review written November 2, 2026
MedAI Verdict, Abstractive Health record, https://medaiverdict.com/tools/abstractive-health, version November 2, 2026
Bottom line
Abstractive Health retrieves a patient's outside records and summarizes them for a physician, and it answers questions about the chart. It does not listen to visits. The vendor sells a free tier, a $99 per user plan for up to five users and a quoted organization plan. It suits an outpatient clinician whose prep time goes to chasing records from other systems. It does not fit a clinician who wants visit notes written, and a buyer who needs a named legal entity before signing will not find one on the site.
Abstractive Health pricing in 2026: what it actually costs
Free tier at $0 per user per month, Standalone at $99 per user per month for up to 5 users, Organization custom above 5 users. Vendor page checked 2026-11-02.
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | per user per month | Free | $0 per user per month, unlimited AI Q&A, 5 patient searches with summaries and 5 PDF uploads per month |
| Standalone | per user per month | $99 | up to 5 users, unlimited searches and summaries, PDF, FHIR and JSON downloads, batch uploads. 15-day free trial of Standalone, no setup fees |
| Organization | n/a | n/a | No public price. Required above 5 users; adds API and backend EHR integration where supported. |
- 15-day free trial: 15-day free trial of the Standalone plan. (abstractivehealth.com) (opens in new tab)
Verified November 2, 2026 from abstractivehealth.com (opens in new tab).
What does it do?
The vendor describes "a physician AI assistant that retrieves outside records" under the tagline "Know your patient instantly" (abstractivehealth.com). According to the site, retrieval runs through Carequality with a geospatial search around the patient's current and prior addresses, and the returned CCDAs, FHIR R4 records, PDFs and images are normalized to JSON. The site says each summary sentence links back to the source note, and that a Q&A function answers over the chart and medical references with citations. An "AI CDS Alerts" entry in the navigation has no description.
The vendor reports 39% better comprehension accuracy and about 30% shorter prep time, with no method given. Its FAQ says the assistant "may occasionally make mistakes."
Who runs it and who has funded it?
The company was founded in 2022 in New York, and Vince Hartman is CEO and co-founder (HEALWELL AI press release, October 2024). The site names no legal entity, and the address in its footer is an apartment unit at 333 E 56 St in New York.
HEALWELL AI said in that release that it invested US$250,000 by SAFE note at a US$10M post-valuation cap, in a round led by Rho Capital Partners with Pear VC and Cornell Technology. The release also describes a four-year agreement giving HEALWELL exclusive distribution in Canadian outpatient care, and early use at New York Presbyterian and Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. Aggregators put total funding between US$1.35M and US$3.2M. The site shows nine partner logos and three undated testimonials, with no customer count.
How does it connect and what does it say about security?
The site describes a SMART on FHIR app that connects through Carequality and CommonWell. Logos on the site include athenahealth, Epic, Cerner, eClinicalWorks, NextGen and AdvancedMD, and the integration depth for each is unstated ("contact us for EHR integrations").
The security page says the company works under HIPAA-aligned safeguards, supports BAAs and maintains a SOC 2 Type II attestation, with the report on request. Hosting is on AWS with encryption at rest and TLS up to 1.3. Which language model providers process the records is not stated.
What does it cost?
Three plans appear on the vendor's pricing section (checked November 2026). Free is $0 per user per month with unlimited Q&A, five patient searches with summaries and five PDF uploads a month. Standalone is $99 per user per month for up to five users, with unlimited searches and summaries, file downloads and batch uploads, and a 15-day trial with no setup fee. Above five users the Organization plan is quoted and adds API and backend EHR integration. National record access typically takes about 72 hours to switch on.
What do the published studies show?
Two of the four PubMed papers that name the company bear on the product, and company staff co-wrote all four. A 2026 JMIR Human Factors study (PMID 42709992) tested the sentence-level provenance interface in 46 clinician interactions on synthetic charts and reported a System Usability Scale score of 86.25. Two authors are co-founders with equity.
A 2024 JAMA Network Open study (PMID 39625719) compared LLM-written emergency handoff notes with physician notes. Three physicians reviewed 50 of 1,600 records and rated the LLM notes slightly lower on usefulness (4.04 against 4.36) and safety (4.06 against 4.50), with no critical safety risk. The lead author holds equity and a patent assigned to the company, and the model studied may differ from the shipping product. The other two papers are a 2023 JAMIA method paper on discharge-summary hospital courses and a 2025 documentation-burden survey, neither an evaluation of this product.
The verdict
Company staff co-wrote all four papers that name Abstractive Health. The two that bear on the product were run on synthetic charts and on emergency handoff notes.
Editorial review last generated November 2, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What deploys cleanly
Carries SOC 2 Type II per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.
Who builds it
Abstractive Health (Abstractive Health) was founded in 2022 in US, putting it 4 years into market.

