MedAI Verdict
Pathology

AI Pathology

Huron Technologies

by Huron Technologies  ·  CA

Last verified

Whole-slide scanners (TissueScope, VX504, HT540), SlideVault image management and Lagotto image search for digital pathology labs.

At a glance

Pricing
No public price. Scanners are capital equipment.
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
HQ
CA
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

5/100Tracked
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/28

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/26

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/28.8

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    3/18

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    2.5/14

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/18

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/14

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/8

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/4

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/21

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/8

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal3/12

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency3/5

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Whole-slide scanners (TissueScope, VX504, HT540), SlideVault image management and Lagotto image search for digital pathology labs.

No public price. Scanners are capital equipment.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Huron Technologies, formerly Huron Digital Pathology, is a Canadian maker of whole-slide scanners, image-management software and image search. Its homepage mentions "AI-enabled tools and open integrations" once and names no AI product. The FDA's 510(k) records list nothing for the company, and Huron publishes no prices.

What does Huron sell?

The homepage calls Huron "Your digital pathology partner" and describes an integrated platform spanning scanning, image management and analysis. The product range:

  • VX504 scanner, 504 slides, 200 slides per hour
  • HT540 scanner, 540 slides, 360 slides per hour
  • TissueScope LE, LE120 and iQ scanners
  • SlideVault, an image management system
  • Lagotto Image Search
  • custom whole-slide imaging and scanning services

TissueScope handles slides up to 6 by 8 inches, per the release for Huron's 2018 partnership with MBF Bioscience on large-scale whole-slide imaging, dated 29 October 2018 at tissuepathology.com. The throughput figures are the vendor's. On those numbers the HT540 reads 360 slides an hour against 200 for the VX504, 80% faster, while holding 36 more slides per load.

Where is the AI?

The homepage mentions "AI-enabled tools and open integrations" without naming a product. Lagotto Image Search appears in the navigation, and the homepage makes no capability claim for it. No diagnostic algorithm is named on the page.

Who is the company?

Huron Technologies is at 1620 King St. N. in St. Jacobs, Ontario. CB Insights dates it to 1994 in the Waterloo region and lists its last funding as $740,000 on 2 December 2022.

Is Huron FDA-cleared?

The FDA's 510(k) records contain no entry for Huron or Huron Technologies.

What do the scanners cost?

Scanners are capital equipment and Huron lists no prices, so each is sold on quote.

The verdict

A laboratory outside the US that needs a high-throughput scanner or one that takes slides up to 6 by 8 inches is the audience. A laboratory that wants a diagnostic AI algorithm will not find one named in Huron's range, and a US clinical lab has no FDA-cleared Huron scanner to buy.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Quote only——No public price. Scanners are capital equipment.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.

Vendor stability

Who builds it

It was previously known as Huron Digital Pathology, an acquisition or rebrand that healthcare-AI buyers should track when reviewing prior independent coverage.