
Best AI medical billing and coding, for revenue cycle
Autonomous coding (CodaMetrix #1 KLAS 2026), denial prevention, prior-auth automation. The single fastest path to ROI in healthcare AI is RCM — these tools deliver it.
Which billing & coding are worth shortlisting in 2026?
Four tools survived our 2026 review for clinical use: CodaMetrix for autonomous coding 2026; Waystar for full-stack rcm; Cohere Health for prior-auth automation; Fathom Health for large health systems.
Four tools we actually recommend
Each pick wins a specific use case. The wrong question is “which is best”. The right question is “which fits my situation”. Skip past the ones not matching yours.
by CodaMetrix
Niche fit· 29KLAS #1 for autonomous coding 2026. Mass General Brigham spinout.
Longitudinal patient-record context. Higher accuracy than pure transcript-based competitors.
- Enterprise.
- SOC 2 (Type 2 per trust center resource list) / ISO 27001:2022
by Waystar
Niche fit· 29Full RCM stack with 98.5% first-pass clean rate via AltitudeAI.
NASDAQ:WAY. Eligibility, claims, denials in one platform.
- No public price. Enterprise contracts.
- HITRUST (badge on waystar.com, scope not stated) / SOC 2 (badge on waystar.com, scope not stated) / PCI (badge on waystar.com)
by Cohere Health
Tracked· 1890% prior-auth automation claim. Unify platform for payer-provider workflows.
Payer-side AI focused on payment integrity and PA. Strong VBC alignment.
- No public price. Sold to health plans. Billing period, trial and refund terms are not stated.
- —
by Fathom
Tracked· 13High-volume autonomous coding deployed at large systems.
Sequoia-backed. Specialty across inpatient + outpatient.
- Enterprise.
- —
What should clinicians look for when buying billing & coding?
The right tool depends on your workflow, your specialty, your budget, and your scale. Five criteria do most of the work narrowing your shortlist.
Workflow integration depth
How deeply does it sit inside your existing workflow? Tools that require copy-paste eventually get abandoned. Tools with native bidirectional sync into your EHR or platform stay.
HIPAA + compliance attestation
Non-negotiable for any clinical use. Look for explicit HIPAA + SOC2 + signed BAA. Free general-purpose LLMs are NOT compliant out-of-the-box.
Pricing transparency
Vendors that publish per-seat or per-encounter pricing on their site are easier to evaluate than enterprise-only quotes. If you can't get pricing without a sales call, factor that friction in.
Specialty and language fit
Performance varies materially by specialty and patient population. Aggregated reviews often look fine but mask specialty-level variance. Pilot in your own workflow before committing.
Vendor stability
This is a multi-year commitment in practice. Funding stage, leadership continuity, enterprise references, and platform partnerships matter. Pre-Series-B vendors carry more risk.
How do all 19 platforms compare side-by-side?
Pricing from vendor documentation, certifications verified against public attestations. Highlighted rows were directly evaluated by an MD on our editorial team within the past six months.
| Ref | Tool | From | Score | Compliance / EHR | Founded | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BC-001 | ![]() AGS Health | No public price. Contract-based services. | 24/100Niche fit | SOC 2 Type 2 (vendor-stated)ISO 27001:2022 (vendor-stated)HITRUST i1 (vendor announcement, 2026-04-02) | 2011 | Visit |
| BC-002 | Aptarro | No public price. An ROI calculator and demo request are offered. | 14/100Tracked | HIPAA (vendor-stated, homepage)HITRUST (vendor-stated, homepage, certificate not checked) | — | Visit |
| BC-003 | CodaMetrix | Enterprise. | 29/100Niche fit | SOC 2 (Type 2 per trust center resource list)ISO 27001:2022 | 2019 | Visit |
| BC-004 | ![]() Cohere Health | No public price. Sold to health plans. Billing period, trial and refund terms are not stated. | 18/100Tracked | 2019 | Visit | |
| BC-005 | ![]() CureMD | No public price. The page offers a free demo request. | 28/100Niche fit | ISO/IEC 42001:2023 (vendor press release 2026-10-08, CureMD AI management system)SOC 2 Type II (vendor-stated, company level)HIPAA (vendor-stated, company level) EHR: CureMD | — | Visit |
| BC-006 | ![]() Exdion Health | No public price. | 7/100Tracked | — | Visit | |
| BC-007 | ![]() Fathom | Enterprise. | 13/100Tracked | — | Visit | |
| BC-008 | ![]() Maverick AI | No public price. | 22/100Niche fit | HIPAA (vendor-stated, homepage badge)SOC 2 (vendor-stated, homepage badge, no report seen) | — | Visit |
| BC-009 | MediCodio | No public price. Starts with a scoping call and a 2 to 4 week pilot. | 18/100Tracked | SOC 2 Type 2 (vendor-stated)ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (vendor-stated)HIPAA (vendor-stated) | — | Visit |
| BC-010 | ![]() Nym Health | No public price. Request a demo. Billing period, trial and refund terms are not stated. | 30/100Competitive | SOC 2 Type II, mapped to HITRUST (vendor-stated)ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (vendor-stated) EHR: Epic | — | Visit |
| BC-011 | ![]() PCH Health | No public price. A pricing page is linked but shows no figures. | 7/100Tracked | HITRUST CSF (vendor-stated)PCI DSS (vendor-stated) | — | Visit |
| BC-012 | ![]() RapidClaims AI | No public price. The vendor offers a 14-day proof of concept on six months of your data. | 10/100Tracked | — | Visit | |
| BC-013 | Rivet Health | No public price. Schedule a demo. | 14/100Tracked | SOC 2 (vendor-stated, footer badge only, no report seen) | — | Visit |
| BC-014 | Smarter Technologies | No public price. An ROI calculator is on the site. | 22/100Niche fit | SOC 2 Type II (vendor-stated, platform page)HIPAA (vendor-stated, platform page)TX-RAMP (vendor-stated, platform page) | — | Visit |
| BC-015 | ![]() Solventum | No public price. Solventum lists no pricing for its health information software. | 13/100Tracked | — | Visit | |
| BC-016 | ![]() Synaptec Health | Flat per-chart fee, no amount published. No minimums or maximums, no setup or cancellation fees. | 14/100Tracked | 2018 | Visit | |
| BC-017 | ![]() TachyHealth | No public price. | 7/100Tracked | — | Visit | |
| BC-018 | ![]() Waystar | No public price. Enterprise contracts. | 29/100Niche fit | HITRUST (badge on waystar.com, scope not stated)SOC 2 (badge on waystar.com, scope not stated)PCI (badge on waystar.com) | — | Visit |
| BC-019 | XX XpertDox | Per-claim pricing, no amount published. Zero upfront fees and a free first month, per the vendor homepage. | 10/100Tracked | — | Visit |
Scroll horizontally to see all columns.
What do clinicians ask about billing & coding?
Sourced from RCM directors, coding compliance leads, and HFMA / AAPC community discussions.
Browse all questionsDeeper articles
Suki pricing in 2026: what practices and health systems actually pay
Suki publishes no price. Third parties report $299 to $399 per user per month, and $350 to $500+ on enterprise contracts, as of October 2026.
Ambience Healthcare pricing in 2026: what health systems actually pay
Ambience publishes no price and ties its fees to outcomes. Third-party estimates run about $233 to $417 per provider per month, as of October 2026.
Abridge pricing in 2026: what health systems actually pay
Abridge publishes no price. Third-party estimates run from about $208 to $600 per clinician per month, plus implementation, as of October 2026.












