MedAI Verdict
AI medical scribes

AI Medical Scribe

Lyrebird logo

Lyrebird

by Lyrebird Health  ·  founded 2023  ·  AU

Last verified

Ambient AI scribe for Australian GP and allied health clinicians, drafting consult notes, referrals and letters.

At a glance

Pricing
from AUD 160/mo
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
2
Founded
2023
HQ
AU
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

28/100Niche fit

Not rated: too little independent evidence yet.

How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/13

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

  • Clinical Integration
    6.3/38.2

    2 EHR integrations

  • Evidence Strength
    6.4/10

    3 peer-reviewed papers

  • Vendor & Market
    6/18

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    5/5

    Prices listed publicly

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/13

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)6/21

    2 EHR integrations

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/12

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/5

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers5/7

    3 peer-reviewed papers

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review2/3

    1 observational study (no RCT)

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal3/12

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Years in market3/6

    Founded 2023 (3 years)

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Pricing transparency5/5

    Prices listed publicly

Scored November 2, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.2.0

Ambient AI scribe for Australian GP and allied health clinicians, drafting consult notes, referrals and letters.

Pricing from from AUD 160/mo. integrates with Best Practice, Genie/Gentu.

Evidence record

Peer-reviewed

3 studies on PubMed: 2 other, 1 observational, published 2026. Read the literature summary

Verification
  • Score computed November 2, 2026, method 1.2.0
  • Review written November 2, 2026
Cite this record

MedAI Verdict, Lyrebird record, https://medaiverdict.com/tools/lyrebird-health, version November 2, 2026

Bottom line

Lyrebird is a Melbourne ambient scribe that listens to a consult and drafts the note, referral or letter. It is built for Australian general practice, and the vendor calls it the only scribe fully integrated with Best Practice. The EHRs it lists are Best Practice and Genie/Gentu.

Who founded Lyrebird and who funds it?

Lyrebird Health was founded in early 2023 in Melbourne by Kai Van Lieshout and Linus Talacko, according to CB Insights and PitchBook. One aggregator gives 2024. PitchBook dates a Series A of 12M to May 22, 2025, led by Five V Capital and Octopus Ventures with Startmate. The currency is probably AUD, and PitchBook shows about US$7.8M. It also lists a seed round in December 2024. MobiHealthNews reported that the money was meant for UK expansion, regulatory compliance and EMR integration. The legal entity and ABN are not published on the site.

The vendor says thousands of clinicians use it. A Medical Republic survey puts Lyrebird and Heidi at about 95% of the Australian GP AI scribe market combined.

What does Lyrebird write?

The vendor describes ambient capture of the consult, a draft note in under 20 seconds, a dictation mode, and referrals, summaries, certificates and reports. It says the tool learns from your edits and from example documents you upload. It also prepares forms common in Australian general practice: CCMP, MHTP, Centrelink, WorkCover and NDIS PDFs. A Patient Summary view shows medications, allergies and history.

On data, the vendor says everything is processed and stored in Australia, no audio is stored and notes are never used to train external models. It describes itself as aligned with APP, HIPAA and GDPR, which is alignment and not certification. The page cites no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certificate. Its FAQ calls the product fully compliant with TGA rules and shows no registration number. The TGA reviewed 12 digital scribes and found 8 likely meet the medical device definition without naming them, so whether Lyrebird is among the 8 is unknown. No FDA clearance for Lyrebird appears in openFDA.

How much does it cost?

The pricing page labels no currency, and the GST on the clinic plans points to AUD. There is a Free plan, and a Best Practice Free plan included via Best Practice, subject to eligibility. Pro is $160 a month, and the toggle shows $1,920 billed annually with a "Save 33%" label. Pro has a 14-day free trial.

Clinic plans are quoted plus GST per month and paid annually: Essentials from $299, Starter from $799, Standard from $1,099 and Premium from $1,649. Enterprise is custom, and the vendor says part-time clinicians, registrars and multi-clinician practices may get discounts through sales. The comparison site Aivy says the free plan allows 50 actions a month, while Lyrebird's page states no limit.

What do studies and users say?

Two 2026 papers involve Lyrebird. An ANZ Journal of Surgery quasi-experimental pilot in a regional general surgery clinic compared AI-assisted scribing with Lyrebird against traditional dictation (PMID 42253160). An ophthalmology paper in Eye tested six scribing tools, Lyrebird among them, on simulated encounters (PMID 41776297).

The vendor's Gold Coast Health case study covers 100+ clinicians across 21 specialties and reports an 80% cut in post-consult documentation time for some clinicians, 88% improved note quality, 84% improved workflow efficiency and 68% of patients noticing more engagement. No method is given.

Trustpilot shows 4.4 out of 5 from 33 reviews, none in the last 12 months. On March 31, 2025 one reviewer said it "transformed my consultations", and on April 1, 2025 another wrote that it "drastically reduced the amount of time completing notes and admin". A 2-star reviewer wrote of "lots transcription errors- and you do not catch all", and a 3-star reviewer said they had complained many times without a fix.

The verdict

Lyrebird is made for Australian GPs on Best Practice or Genie, and the market-share survey says many already use it. Aivy, a comparison site that may not be neutral, calls it the obvious GP pick on Best Practice and a weaker fit elsewhere.

Editorial review last generated November 2, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

What it costs

Paid plans span AUD 160 to AUD 1649 per month per provider, depending on tier.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
FreeNot statedNot statedFree for everyone. No action limit is stated on the page. The page does not label its currency; AUD is inferred from the GST on the clinic plans.
Best Practice FreeNot statedNot statedIncluded via Best Practice. Check eligibility.
ProAUD 160Not statedMonthly/Annual toggle: $1,920 billed annually, "Save 33%". The $160 figure sits beside the annual total, so the month-to-month rate is not captured. Try 14 days free.
EssentialsAUD 299Not statedClinic plan, "From $299 + GST" per month, paid annually.
StarterAUD 799Not statedClinic plan, "From $799 + GST" per month, paid annually.
StandardAUD 1099Not statedClinic plan, "From $1,099 + GST" per month, paid annually.
PremiumAUD 1649Not statedClinic plan, "From $1,649 + GST" per month, paid annually.
EnterpriseNot statedNot statedNo public price. Custom pricing. Part-time clinicians, registrars and multi-clinician practices may get discounts via Sales.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked November 2, 2026.

What deploys cleanly

No compliance attestations publicly disclosed at time of review. Integrates with 2 EHRs: Best Practice, Genie/Gentu.

Who builds it

Lyrebird (Lyrebird Health) was founded in 2023 in AU, putting it 3 years into market.

What the literature says

3 peer-reviewed studies indexed on PubMed evaluate Lyrebird in clinical contexts. The most relevant are shown below, ranked by editorial relevance score combining title match, study design, recency, and journal tier.

Integration of AI-generated clinic letters in complex paediatric neurosurgery outpatient settings. (opens in new tab)
Elmolla M, Khanom AA, Ali AMS, et al.· Childs Nerv Syst· 2026
Dictation of outpatient clinic letters can result in increased workload for clinicians. The use of generative, natural language processing artificial intelligence (AI) software could be used to supplant dictation and typing, alleviating the clinician's workload. Therefore, our objective was to validate the use of AI software, Lyrebird AI (Lyrebird Health, Ltd.) to create accurate and readable clinic letters, in the context of a single clinician general paediatric neurosurgery clinic and a multi-disciplinary craniofacial clinic. Twenty consultations were included, wherein a microphone was used…
Large language model-based scribing tools for ophthalmology: performance and safety evaluation using simulated clinical encounters. (opens in new tab)
Zou M, Srinivasan S, Chin V, et al.· Eye (Lond)· 2026Observational
To compare the performance and safety of six LLM-based scribing tools in generating ophthalmological clinical notes from simulated physician-patient encounters. This cross-sectional comparative study involved seven ophthalmic encounters, transcribed by six scribing tools (Heidi AI, Whisper GPT-4o, Whisper Gemini 1.5 Pro, i-scribe, Lyrebird, Twofold). Scribing tools were prompted to generate notes using Subjective, Objective, Assessment, and Plan (SOAP) format. Consultant-level ophthalmologists evaluated note quality using the Physician Documentation Quality Instrument (PDQI-9), which evaluate…
Artificial Intelligence-Enhanced Dictation Improves Efficiency in a Regional General Surgery Clinic: A Quasi-Experimental Pilot Study. (opens in new tab)
Carmichael GJ, Di Tano V, Wright C, et al.· ANZ J Surg· 2026
Rural surgical services face increasing clinical demand and administrative burden, often exacerbated by limited workforce and support infrastructure. Artificial intelligence (AI) scribes may improve documentation efficiency, yet evidence from surgical and rural or regional outpatient settings remains scarce. The study aimed to determine whether AI-assisted documentation could reduce total documentation time relative to traditional dictation methods. A quasi-experimental pilot study was conducted in a private colorectal and general surgery clinic in regional Victoria. Consecutive consultations…

See all on PubMed (opens in new tab)