MedAI Verdict
AI medical scribes

AI Medical Scribe

Medscape Scribe logo

Medscape Scribe

by Medscape

Last verified

Free AI scribe in the Medscape app that transcribes visits and summarizes them into SOAP, H&P or POMR notes.

At a glance

Pricing
Free for Medscape users, "at no additional cost" (press release). The product page could not be read, so no other plan details are known.
HIPAA
Attested
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

13/100Tracked

Not rated: too little independent evidence yet.

How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    7.8/13

    Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)

  • Clinical Integration
    0/38.2

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/10

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    3/18

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    0/5

    No public pricing

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA8/13

    Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/21

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/12

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/5

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/7

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/3

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal3/12

    Seed-stage or unfunded

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Pricing transparency0/5

    No public pricing

Scored November 2, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.2.0

Free AI scribe in the Medscape app that transcribes visits and summarizes them into SOAP, H&P or POMR notes.

Free for Medscape users, "at no additional cost" (press release). The product page could not be read, so no other plan details are known. HIPAA-attested.

Evidence record

Verification
  • Score computed November 2, 2026, method 1.2.0
  • Review written November 2, 2026
Cite this record

MedAI Verdict, Medscape Scribe record, https://medaiverdict.com/tools/medscape-scribe, version November 2, 2026

Bottom line

Medscape Scribe is a free scribe inside the Medscape app, made by Medscape, a subsidiary of WebMD Health Corp. You put a phone on the desk, and it records the visit and produces a SOAP, H&P or POMR summary. It fits a US clinician who wants to try ambient notes without paying. It does not fit a practice that needs the note written into its EHR automatically.

Who can use it, and what does it cost?

It costs nothing for Medscape users, "at no additional cost" in WebMD's October 2024 press release. Medscape's help page, updated in November 2025, limits access to registered US MDs, nurses, PAs and students on iOS, and to US MDs only on Android. The release dates the launch to October 29, 2024, while HIT Consultant had reported the rollout in August 2024 under the headline "Medscape launches free AI medical scribe for physicians".

What does Scribe produce?

The press release announces a free, AI-powered tool that transcribes and summarizes patient visits. According to it and the help page, Scribe:

  • Transcribes and summarizes a visit in real time.
  • Flags dosage and frequency details for review with a feature called Scribecheck.
  • Lets you pause and resume, edit on medscape.com, and syncs summaries between app and website.
  • Deletes transcripts automatically after 72 hours.

The release says Scribe supports integration with EMR and EHR systems and names none. The workflow it describes is copying the note into the EHR. The release calls the tool HIPAA-compliant. It does not name the company supplying the speech and language models, and it gives no usage counts or accuracy data. No FDA clearance for Medscape Scribe appears in openFDA.

What are the limits?

A Medium comparison of free AI scribes lists three: summaries vanish after 72 hours, there is no direct EHR integration, and accuracy needs careful checking. Its author states that no objective speed or accuracy test was run.

For price context, Freed's paid Starter plan is $39 a month for up to 40 notes, shown beside $59, per getfreed.ai/pricing in October 2026. Medscape Scribe costs nothing. Transcripts are deleted after 72 hours, and the workflow is copy and paste.

The verdict

Ambient notes cost a US physician, nurse, PA or student nothing inside the Medscape app. On Android only US MDs are admitted, per the help page, and the transcript is gone after 72 hours.

Editorial review last generated November 2, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

What it costs

All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
FreeNot statedNot statedFree for Medscape users, "at no additional cost" (press release). The product page could not be read, so no other plan details are known.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked November 2, 2026.

What deploys cleanly

Carries HIPAA per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.