- Free for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded).
- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- 2022
- US

OpenEvidence
by OpenEvidence · founded 2022 · US
Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance0/28
No FDA clearance listed
- Clinical Integration0/26
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength25.5/30
5 peer-reviewed papers
- Vendor & Market16.2/18
Top-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency5.8/11.5
Sentiment 50/100 across 20 mentions
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/18
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/14
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/8
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/4
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers21/21
5 peer-reviewed papers
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review5/9
1 observational study (no RCT)
- Funding & adoption signal12/12
Top-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market4/6
Founded 2022 (4 years)
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)5/9
Sentiment 50/100 across 20 mentions
- Pricing transparency1/3
Pricing on request, no public amounts
Used by ~65% of US physicians for grounded clinical questions.
Free for NPI-verified physicians. Pharma-ad funded. Every answer is literature-traceable. Embedded in Mt Sinai Epic.
Bottom line
OpenEvidence is a free, cited question-and-answer tool for US clinicians and a reasonable first stop for a literature lookup between patients. It is not a documentation tool and writes no notes, and no EHR integration or FDA statement appears on the pages read. Independent testing is mixed, and two Reddit threads from September 2025 complain about accuracy and source selection. Use it as a pointer to papers and guidelines, then open the paper. Look elsewhere if you need a licensed, auditable reference with an accountable vendor, if you practise outside the US, or if an ad-supported product is a problem for your institution.
What is OpenEvidence and who sells it?
OpenEvidence answers clinical questions with cited literature. Its home page calls it "America's Official Medical Knowledge Platform" and lists partnerships with the New England Journal of Medicine, JAMA and the JAMA Network journals, Nature, and an AI collaboration with NCCN whose content includes the NCCN Guidelines treatment algorithms (OpenEvidence website, read October 2026). Access is for verified US clinicians.
The company is OpenEvidence, run by Daniel Nadler, previously of Kensho, and Zachary Ziegler. CNBC dates the founding to 2022. Tracxn says 2021, so we give the year as 2021 or 2022. Press reports give this funding history: $75M from Sequoia at a $1B valuation in February 2025, a $210M Series B at $3.5B in July 2025, a $200M Series C at $6.1B in October 2025, and $250M at $12B in January 2026. A further $250M at $15B was reported in September 2026 and the company has not confirmed it. These are press figures, not OpenEvidence statements.
Revenue comes mostly from pharmaceutical advertising, and Sacra estimates annualised revenue at about $300M in July 2026. OpenEvidence's privacy banner says it shares limited information with third parties to measure advertising and that it does not sell or share users' searches.
What does OpenEvidence do well?
It answers a clinical question in seconds with references you can open. The home page suggests three kinds of prompts: write home care instructions, compare treatment alternatives, and research a topic. The listed partnerships with NEJM, the JAMA Network and Nature are the selling point, since they put those journals behind the citations.
Reported use is the other signal. A family physician on r/FamilyMedicine (August 2025) wrote that using DAX Copilot and, more recently, OpenEvidence had raised their productivity and quality of care. A separate r/FamilyMedicine thread (January 2026) is titled "My favorite OpenEvidence feature". In the January 2026 outage thread, a commenter said they would spend a large share of their CME funds to keep the service from going down again, and compared it with UpToDate's AI at roughly $700 a year.
Price is part of the case. OpenEvidence is free for NPI-verified physicians, and STAT News (January 2026, as relayed by a CME site) reports it is free to any clinician with an NPI. No paid tier is listed.
The security page states HIPAA compliance, a standard Business Associate Agreement for PHI, a SOC 2 Type II report for the Security category, AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS in transit, hosting on Google Cloud Platform and Vercel, and an annual penetration test. HITRUST and ISO 27001 are not stated there.
Where does OpenEvidence fall short?
The complaints are about accuracy and source selection, and they come from clinicians, not competitors.
In September 2025 a post on r/emergencymedicine titled "OpenEvidence inaccuracy" told readers to "beware what OpenEvidence tells you" and described catching an error: a chest x-ray cannot be used to rule in or out a pulmonary embolism. On r/Residency the same month, a thread called "OpenEvidence Bias" asked whether the tool had become more biased, choosing certain journals even when a paper did not fit the age group in the question. How often either problem occurs is unknown. Both fit what the formal evaluations below show: the tool is useful and fallible.
Some limits are about scope. A competitor's review says OpenEvidence has no differential generator, dosing calculator or interaction checker. The same review reports that the company withdrew from the EU and UK in April 2026.
Whether advertising appears inside answers, and how it is labelled, is unclear. The product pages show no ads, and a free, ad-funded product raises the question.
How does OpenEvidence compare with UpToDate and ChatGPT?
The most direct rival is UpToDate with its AI features. Other products in the same category include DynaMed, ClinicalKey AI, Doximity GPT, Vera Health, Glass Health, DxGPT and Isabel. Web comparisons also set it against ChatGPT.
On price, UpToDate is a paid product. One commenter on r/FamilyMedicine (January 2026) put its AI-enabled access at about $700 a year. OpenEvidence is free for a verified clinician, with advertising paying for it.
On accuracy, the head-to-head evidence is thin. NYU Langone, in Nature Medicine (June 2026), reported 89.6% for OpenEvidence against 88.4% for UpToDate Expert AI on MedQA, and a one-point gap on a multiple-choice benchmark is not a basis for choosing a reference tool. A medRxiv preprint from November 2025, not peer reviewed, tested subspecialty scenarios and reported accuracy of 31% for a quick search and 39.5% for the Deep Consult mode. Deep Consult is not confirmed on an official OpenEvidence page.
For "what does the literature say about X", OpenEvidence is a free first pass. Whether a hospital's legal or quality team accepts it as a reference of record is that team's call. For documentation, none of this applies.
What does the evidence say?
The evidence is a set of external comparisons, not trials of patient outcomes. Five 2026 papers mention the tool. A Southern Medical Journal observational study compared GPT-4o, Perplexity AI and OpenEvidence on diagnostic radiology board-style questions (PMID 41999647). The Knee published a concordance study of ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude and OpenEvidence against the 2024 AAOS meniscal pathology guideline (PMID 41865615). The Journal of the Medical Library Association reviews the tool (PMID 41777900), the Journal of Medical Internet Research analysed how AI tools handle retracted literature (PMID 42066286), and the Journal of Clinical Medicine studied how language models promote minimally invasive interventional radiology in gynecology and obstetrics (PMID 42122968). None reports patient outcomes.
The retracted-literature study bears most on a tool whose pitch is citations. A sixth paper, indexed as PMC11787857, looked at OpenEvidence for medical student rotations and concluded it works "with limitations".
No randomised trial shows that using OpenEvidence changes a clinical decision or a patient outcome. The accuracy figures come from exam-style questions and small scenario sets, and the lowest (31% and 39.5%) is from a preprint.
Who should use OpenEvidence?
A resident on nights who wants a cited starting point for a guideline question, and will open the reference before acting on it, loses nothing by trying it, since it is free. A family physician who already pays for a reference and wants a faster search layer on top fits too. A clinician in a department that bans ad-funded tools should ask the compliance team first, because the advertising model is the sticking point, not the security page.
It is the wrong tool for anyone outside the US, anyone who needs EHR integration, and anyone who would paste an answer into a note without opening the cited paper.
The verdict
OpenEvidence earns a place as a free lookup tool. Public evidence of accuracy is mixed and mostly from benchmarks, so treat an answer as a pointer to papers and read the paper. As of October 2026 there is no public price list. The product is free for NPI-verified physicians and funded by advertising.
Editorial review last generated October 14, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
Free tier only, no paid plans publicly disclosed.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | — | — | Free for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded). |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 14, 2026.
Who builds it
OpenEvidence (OpenEvidence) was founded in 2022 in US, putting it 4 years into market.
What the literature says
5 peer-reviewed studies indexed on PubMed evaluate OpenEvidence in clinical contexts. The most relevant are shown below, ranked by editorial relevance score combining title match, study design, recency, and journal tier.
- Performance of Large Language Models on Diagnostic Radiology Board-Style Questions: A Comparative Evaluation of GPT-4o, Perplexity AI, and OpenEvidence.
- Aziz R, Stewart S, Liscomb R, et al.· South Med J· 2026
- The objective of this study was to compare the diagnostic accuracy and internal consistency of GPT-4o (Generative Pre-Trained Transformer-4 omni), Perplexity AI (artificial intelligence), and OpenEvidence when applied to text-based, specialty-level radiology board questions. A total of 161 text-based multiple-choice questions from the American College of Radiology (ACR) Diagnostic Radiology In-Training Examination were administered across three independent runs for each large language model (LLM). Questions containing images were excluded. All three models were accessed through their respecti…
- OpenEvidence.
- Philip S, Kurian R· J Med Libr Assoc· 2026
- . AI based Medical Information platform. Released 2023. OpenEvidence Inc. Cambridge. Massachusetts. https://www.openevidence.com/; Founder& CEO: DR. Daniel Nadler. Free of cost for Healthcare Professionals. Registration is required to use Open Evidence.
- Concordance of ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, and OpenEvidence with the 2024 AAOS guidelines on acute isolated meniscal pathology.
- Hsu WK, Chuang HC, Wang YY, et al.· Knee· 2026
- To evaluate the reliability and clinical applicability of the three most commonly used large language models (LLMs) (ChatGPT, Gemini, and Claude) and a domain-specific artificial intelligence (AI) platform (OpenEvidence) in providing recommendations for acute isolated meniscal pathology, to compare their accuracy, and to assess the consistency between American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons (AAOS) Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG) recommendations and AI-generated guidance. An exploratory cross-sectional benchmarking analysis evaluated concordance of three large language models (ChatGPT, Gemi…
- Performance of AI Tools in Citing Retracted Literature : Content Analysis.
- Labenbacher S, Niederer M, Hammer S, et al.· J Med Internet Res· 2026
- Generative artificial intelligence (GenAI) tools are increasingly used in scientific research to support literature searches, evidence synthesis, and manuscript preparation. While these systems promise substantial efficiency gains, concerns have emerged regarding their reliability, particularly their tendency to cite inaccurate, fabricated, or retracted literature. The unrecognized inclusion of retracted studies poses a serious risk to research integrity and evidence-based decision-making. Whether commonly used GenAI tools can reliably detect, exclude, or transparently communicate the retract…
- The Role of Large Language Models in the Promotion of Minimally Invasive Interventional Radiologic Methods in Gynecology and Obstetrics.
- Psilopatis I, Emons J, Vrettou K, et al.· J Clin Med· 2026
- Minimally invasive interventional radiology (IR) offers effective, uterus-preserving treatments for several gynecologic and obstetric conditions such as uterine fibroids, adenomyosis and postpartum hemorrhage. Despite their efficacy, these methods remain underused, partly to limited awareness among clinicians and patients. Large language models (LLMs) may help bridge this gap by providing accessible, reliable information.To evaluate how current LLMs address knowledge gaps and promote awareness of minimally invasive IR methods in gynecology and obstetrics.A structured ten-question instrument w…
What clinicians say about OpenEvidence
Aggregated from 20 public clinician mentions. We quote with attribution under fair-use commentary.
Aggregated sentiment from 20 public mentions
- mixed
- 15%
- 0.04
- Reddit·20
- accuracy3
- ease-of-use3
- note-quality2
- note-templates1
- free-tier1
- templates1
- time-savings1
- documentation1
- 01arguably the best ai scribe currently in existence
- 02wants to get the most out of it
- 03cites relevant sources
- 04free for hcps
- 05up to date to the day
- 01ai in healthcare is overhyped and poorly communicated
- 02includes irrelevant details
- 03concern about energy use/environmental impact
- 04service is down
- 05privacy concerns
“OpenEvidence inaccuracy Beware what OpenEvidence tells you. Caught this inaccuracy today when I was using it for an atypical case. For those who do not know, a chest x-ray cannot be used to rule in or out a pulmonary embolism (PE.)”
“OpenEvidence is down. I would use a large amount of my CME funds to guarantee this doesn’t happen again I’m surprised it isn’t already a subscription. UptoDate has a LLM and charges like $700/year for access.”
“For EU docs that used OpenEvidence, what are you using as an alternative? And for those using a VPN to continue using it, which one? Since 'mounting regulatory uncertainty' isn't something that is going to change overnight, what are you planning on using in the future?”
Summarized from 20 public clinician mentions. We quote with attribution under fair-use commentary and never republish full reviews. See our editorial methodology for source weights.
Common questions about OpenEvidence
Answers below cover the most-searched clinician questions for OpenEvidence in 2026. Updated as vendor docs and pricing change.

