- from USD 39/mo
- Attested
- Not disclosed
- 1
- —

ClinicalKey AI
by Elsevier
Generative AI on Elsevier corpus with CME credit and citable answers.
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance6/28
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- Clinical Integration7.4/26
1 EHR integrations
- Evidence Strength0/30
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market8.4/18
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Sentiment & Transparency2.5/11.5
Prices listed publicly
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/18
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA6/10
Partial attestation (one of HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA)
- EHR integrations (count)4/14
1 EHR integrations
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)3/8
epic only (1 of 3 top EHRs)
- Bidirectional write-back0/4
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers0/21
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/9
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal8/12
Mid-tier funding and adoption
- Years in market0/6
Founded year not recorded
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9
No clinician sentiment data available
- Pricing transparency3/3
Prices listed publicly
Generative AI on Elsevier corpus with CME credit and citable answers.
Pricing from from USD 39/mo. HIPAA-attested. integrates with Epic.
Bottom line
ClinicalKey AI is Elsevier's generative clinical decision support tool. It answers clinical questions with cited responses drawn from Elsevier's own licensed content, and it can be opened from inside the EHR. An individual plan costs $39 a month or $349 a year. It suits a clinician who wants answers tied to Elsevier titles such as Braunwald's and Goldman-Cecil, or to the NEJM and JAMA Network journals, and who would use the built-in CME credit. A clinician buying on independent accuracy data should look at tools that appear in published benchmarks, because ClinicalKey AI is absent from the one that ranks competitors.
What is it built on?
Elsevier, part of the publicly listed RELX group, launched ClinicalKey AI in 2024. A March 2025 announcement added Epic integration, a mobile app and CME tracking. The vendor describes it as "an EHR and API-enabled clinical decision support tool" on "a proprietary, full-text and copyright-cleared clinical knowledge base, refreshed daily."
The listed content includes society guidelines from ACC, AACE, ACEP, CHEST and ESMO, The Lancet, NEJM, 13 JAMA Network journals in full, Braunwald's and Goldman-Cecil, and drug information. Answers come from retrieval-augmented generation over multiple large language models, according to Elsevier's press material. It is a separate product from Elsevier's drug reference, Clinical Pharmacology.
What can you do with it?
A natural-language question returns an answer with citations. A Reading Assistant summarizes an article in place, and answers can use patient context such as age, comorbidities and medications. Deep Research mode produces what Elsevier calls "structured, citation-rich evidence synthesis in minutes." The vendor says "real-time citation validation" checks that an answer is grounded in the cited source.
CME and MOC credits can be earned inside the platform, and Elsevier says American Boards are supported across eight specialties.
How does it connect to the EHR?
Elsevier states SMART on FHIR single sign-on into the EHR, Epic access through a hybrid app or SSO, link-resolver support and an API. On privacy the product page says "Built to be HIPAA-compliant*" and that data is encrypted in transit and at rest. SOC 2 and HITRUST are not stated, and ClinicalKey AI is not a cleared medical device.
What does it cost?
The Elsevier subscription store lists $39 per month, billed monthly ($1.28 a day), or $349 a year, billed annually ($0.96 a day). Individual plans are sold in the US, Canada, the UK, Australia, New Zealand, Germany, India and a few other countries. Institutions contact sales.
The store says "Try free for 14 days" and converts to a paid, automatically renewing plan afterward, while the product page says "Try free for 90 days."
How good are the answers?
The Nature Medicine 2026 benchmark that scored OpenEvidence at 89.6% and UpToDate at 88.4% did not include ClinicalKey AI. Elsevier says its clinicians review quality, completeness and safety of responses on a regular cadence, which is the vendor's claim.
The CMIO of St. Elizabeth Healthcare credits the tool with speed in a testimonial on Elsevier's page.
The verdict
At $349 a year, about $29 a month, the annual plan is the cheaper way in. A clinician who already pays for Elsevier content, or whose hospital lets them in through the EHR, is the natural user. A clinician choosing mainly on answer quality has no ClinicalKey AI figure from the Nature Medicine benchmark to compare, and should look at the tools that were scored.
Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
Single paid tier at USD 39/month per provider.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual, monthly | USD 39 | — | Billed monthly. |
| Individual, annual | — | USD 349 | Billed annually. |
| Institution | — | — | No public price. Contact sales. |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.
What deploys cleanly
Carries HIPAA (vendor-stated: "built to be HIPAA-compliant") per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment. Integrates with Epic.

