MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

eCART vs DermaSensor

A primary care physician can try DermaSensor on a monthly rental under a one-year device use agreement with a try-and-return option, and the vendor publishes no price for an outright purchase. FDA granted De Novo DEN230008 in January 2024 for use by physicians on lesions suspicious for skin cancer. The device scans a lesion already judged suspicious and returns "Monitor" or "Investigate Further" with a 1 to 10 score. Vendor figures give 96% sensitivity in DERM-SUCCESS, a multi-reader, multi-case study, and specificity of 33% in DERM-ASSESS III, a multicenter prospective blinded study, so many scans come back "Investigate Further". The vendor also says a dedicated CPT code has not yet been established and that EHR integration is still to come.

AgileMD sells to hospitals. eCART is cleared for hospitalized ward patients 18 and older, and the vendor cites 400+ hospitals. A primary care group scanning skin lesions and a hospital quality office scoring ward patients are buying for different clinical settings.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

eCART logo

eCART

by AgileMD

Early warning software that scores hospitalized ward patients for risk of deterioration from EHR data, for use by trained clinicians.

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

When to pick each one

eCART

  • Cleared for hospitalized ward patients 18 and older
  • Vendor cites 400+ hospitals and 150,000+ clinical users
Read the full eCART review

DermaSensor

  • De Novo DEN230008 for lesions already judged suspicious
  • Monthly rental with one-year agreement and try-and-return
  • No EHR integration yet
Read the full DermaSensor review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

eCART

56of 100

Solid choice

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for eCART and DermaSensor
DimensioneCARTDermaSensorDifference
FDA clearance12 / 1212 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA10 / 100 / 10+10
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 2114.7 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 94.5 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

eCART

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. There is no pricing page; the site offers a demo request only.

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpeceCARTDermaSensor
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2009
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.