Kardia 12L vs OpenEvidence
OpenEvidence answers clinical questions with citations. It is free to NPI-verified physicians and funded by advertising, and its security page states SOC 2 Type II and a standard business associate agreement for PHI. A medRxiv preprint on subspecialty scenarios, not peer reviewed, reported 31% accuracy on quick search and 39.5% on Deep Consult. A secondary summary of an NYU Langone paper in Nature Medicine reports 89.6% against 88.4% for UpToDate Expert AI on MedQA, a benchmark. On r/emergencymedicine one user reported a wrong answer about chest X-ray and pulmonary embolism, and a commenter on r/FamilyMedicine said they would spend a large amount of CME funds to keep it from going down again.
A resident or family physician who wants cited literature answers uses OpenEvidence, and a cited-answer tool and an ECG recorder answer different clinical needs. AliveCor's security page lists HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and an ISO 42001 certification covering Kardia AI V2. An internal medicine office adding ECG capture is its customer.
Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Kardia 12L
by AliveCor
Portable 12-lead ECG device with FDA-cleared AI interpretation, sold to clinicians with KardiaPro patient management access.

OpenEvidence
by OpenEvidence · founded 2022
Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.
When to pick each one
Kardia 12L
- SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 stated
- FDA-cleared AI interpretation of ECG tracings
OpenEvidence
- Free for NPI-verified physicians, ad-funded
- Vendor-stated NEJM and JAMA partnerships
- Standard BAA for PHI
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Kardia 12L
38of 100
OpenEvidence
52of 100
| Dimension | Kardia 12L | OpenEvidence | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 12 / 12 | 0 / 12 | +12 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 10 / 10 | 0 / 10 | +10 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 21 / 21 | -21 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 4.5 / 9 | -4.5 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | -1.2 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | -4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Kardia 12L
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kardia 12L | n/a | n/a | Includes the device, KardiaStation app, KardiaPro access and a 3-year warranty, with a 90-day return policy. Two-week trial for eligible U.S. HCPs by form. The page does not state whether the price is one-time or recurring. |
OpenEvidence
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | n/a | n/a | Free for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded). |
Evidence
Kardia 12L
FDA decisions
K252589 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-01-09
Corvair Monza
K231010 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-06-07
Corvair
K232035 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-06-07
Impala
K220350 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-05-25
KardiaMobile 6L
K212662 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-04-26
AliveCor QT Service
Show 14 more
K211668 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-11-30
KardiaMobile Card
K210753 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-06-30
KardiaMobile 6L
K201985 (opens in new tab)510(k)2020-11-12
KardiaAI
K191406 (opens in new tab)510(k)2020-01-24
KardiaMobile, KardiaStation
K183319 (opens in new tab)510(k)2019-05-10
Triangle System
K181823 (opens in new tab)510(k)2019-04-12
KardiaAI
K182396 (opens in new tab)510(k)2019-04-12
KardiaMobile, KardiaStation
K171816 (opens in new tab)510(k)2017-11-16
Kardia Band System
K142743 (opens in new tab)510(k)2015-01-27
AliveCor Heart Monitor
K142672 (opens in new tab)510(k)2014-12-03
AliveCor Heart Monitor
K140933 (opens in new tab)510(k)2014-08-15
AliveCor Heart Monitor
K130921 (opens in new tab)510(k)2014-02-06
AliveCor Heart Monitor
K130409 (opens in new tab)510(k)2013-09-06
AliveCor Heart Monitor
K122356 (opens in new tab)510(k)2012-11-19
AliveCor Heart Monitor for iPhone
OpenEvidence
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name OpenEvidence.
- Performance of Large Language Models on Diagnostic Radiology Board-Style Questions: A Comparative Evaluation of GPT-4o, Perplexity AI, and OpenEvidence. (opens in new tab)
- OpenEvidence. (opens in new tab)
- Concordance of ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, and OpenEvidence with the 2024 AAOS guidelines on acute isolated meniscal pathology. (opens in new tab)
Community
20 posts sourced: 3 positive, 14 neutral, 3 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Kardia 12L | OpenEvidence |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2022 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.
