AMA Ed Hub vs Pathoma
Pathoma's Pro plan is $99.95 for 12 months, one-time, with the 2026 paperback included. Three months is $84.95 and 21 months $119.95, both from older pages and unconfirmed. The course is 35-plus hours of video by Dr. Husain Sattar plus a 218-page text. The book ships as paperback only, with no PDF, and sales are final. A second-year student who wants pathology in one voice can try the free one-month account first. Pathoma covers pathology and nothing else, so a Step 1 plan still needs pharmacology and physiology teaching from another vendor.
AMA Ed Hub's seven-module AI series, built with the University of Michigan DATA-MD team, is free to everyone and runs up to 3.5 AMA PRA Category 1 credits. The wider library holds more than 4,000 CME activities, free to AMA members. A student with a Step 1 date finds no pathology course described there, so Pathoma wins that buyer outright.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

AMA Ed Hub
by American Medical Association
AMA's CME platform: 8,000+ activities from the AMA, JAMA Network and partners, including a free AI-in-Health-Care module series.

Pathoma
by Pathoma LLC (Dr. Husain Sattar)
Pathology video course + textbook.
When to pick each one
AMA Ed Hub
- Free CME for AMA members
- Free AI series, 7 modules, up to 3.5 credits
- Credit from AMA PRA Category 1
Pathoma
- $99.95 for 12 months, paperback included
- Over 35 hours of video from one teacher
- Free one-month trial account
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
AMA Ed Hub
42of 100
Pathoma
61of 100
| Dimension | AMA Ed Hub | Pathoma | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 2.8 / 7 | -2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
AMA Ed Hub
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free account / AI series | n/a | n/a | A free account is available, and the AMA ChangeMedEd Artificial Intelligence in Health Care Series (7 modules) is free to everyone. |
| AMA member | n/a | n/a | AMA members get free CME on Ed Hub. |
| Non-member subscription (JN Learning) | n/a | $399.99 | From a search summary of the Ed Hub subscriptions page. Not fetched directly. Individual paid courses vary. |
Pathoma
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free account | 1-month trial | Free | 6 videos, no book |
| Pro3 price points | |||
| Pro | 3 months, one-time | $84.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 12 months, one-time | $99.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 21 months, one-time | $119.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
Verified October 14, 2026 from pathoma.com (opens in new tab).
Evidence
AMA Ed Hub
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Pathoma
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Pathoma.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | AMA Ed Hub | Pathoma |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
