AMBOSS vs Lecturio Medical
AMBOSS puts a 30-day money-back guarantee in writing for purchases made directly, while Lecturio bills 3, 12 or 24 months at once. Lecturio starts at $15.99 per month against a struck-through $34.99 list rate, with 7 days free. A third-party aggregator, not the vendor, puts 12 months at $299.88. AMBOSS runs $19.99 per month, or $12.50 per month billed yearly.
A second-year student who learns from lectures, working through a course such as the 447 videos in Clinical Neurology, gets an AI tutor on Qbank cases and First Aid references from Lecturio. An intern who wants a reference library beside the Qbank fits AMBOSS, which also sells a clinician plan at $29.99 per month. For a student who already lives in Anki, Lecturio loses ground, because AMBOSS adds context to AnKing cards.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

AMBOSS
by AMBOSS
AI-tutored medical reference + QBank with Anki integration.

Lecturio Medical
by Lecturio GmbH · founded 2008
Medical video curriculum with a USMLE-style QBank, an AI tutor and adaptive recall quizzes.
When to pick each one
AMBOSS
- Anki add-on that adds context to AnKing cards
- 30-day money-back on direct purchases
- Clinician plan at $29.99 per month
Lecturio Medical
- Video library by course, 447 in Clinical Neurology
- Starts at $15.99 per month, billed by term
- Qbank cases with AI tutor, 7 days free
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
AMBOSS
61of 100
Lecturio Medical
58of 100
| Dimension | AMBOSS | Lecturio Medical | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 2.8 / 7 | 0 / 7 | +2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 12 / 12 | 6 / 12 | +6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 7.8 / 7.8 | -7.8 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
AMBOSS
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student / resident, monthly | per month, auto-renews monthly | $19.99 | Library plus 50 Qbank questions per month |
Show all 9 price pointsHide extra price points
| Student / resident, yearly | per year, auto-renews yearly | $149 | shown as $12.50 per month billed yearly. The page advertises SAVE $89.88, and against twelve monthly payments of $19.99 ($239.88) the gap is $90.88 |
| Yearly plus Qbank bundle | per year. Membership then renews at $149 | $448 | marked Most Popular |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, US page | 6 months, one-time | $378 | price shown on the US USMLE page. The international page shows $358. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| 6-month Qbank bundle, international page | 6 months, one-time | $358 | price shown on the international USMLE page. The US page shows $378. The $358 to $378 range is also in the SERP supplement of October 14, 2026 |
| Student Life | one-time | $1,199 | through end of PGY-1. Includes Qbank, Library, self-assessments, Score Predictor |
| Self-assessment | per assessment, one-time | $49.99 | free with Student Life |
| Clinician, monthly | per month | $29.99 | practitioner plan |
| Clinician, yearly | per year | $259 | practitioner plan. The pricing page shows $21.58 per month billed yearly |
Verified October 14, 2026 from amboss.com (opens in new tab).
Lecturio Medical
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lecturio Medical, starts at | $15.99 | n/a | Pricing page headline "starts at $15.99 per month" with a struck-through $34.99. Billed per month but charged every 3 months, yearly or every 2 years. Up to 50% saving on 24 months. First 7 days free, cancel anytime. Refund not stated. |
| Premium, starts at | $19.99 | n/a | Premium cards read "starts at $19.99 per month" with $34.99 struck through. Adds the full library, QBank with AI tutor, study plans, NEJM Healer patient simulations and AI Assistant. |
| Third-party term prices | n/a | n/a | Third-party figures from fitgap.com, not stated on lecturio.com: $34.99 per month for 3 months, $24.99 per month for 12 months, $19.99 per month for 24 months. |
| Accredited Courses, starts at | n/a | n/a | Accredited (CME) courses start at $299. Accreditor not captured. |
Evidence
AMBOSS
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names AMBOSS.
Lecturio Medical
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | AMBOSS | Lecturio Medical |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2008 |
| HQ | DE | DE |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
