Anki AnKing Step Deck vs OnlineMedEd
OnlineMedEd changed hands in March 2025, when Archer Review announced its acquisition, and checkout now redirects to Archer. Whether current subscribers keep their old rates is not stated. The annual plan is $30 per month billed as $360, covering 600+ whiteboard videos, 3,000+ pages of illustrated notes and a 3,300+ question bank on the MD track. Six months cost $48 per month and a single month $79. AnkiHub Core is $6 per month for the AnKing Step Deck, and the Anki app is free on desktop and Android.
A third-year student on a family medicine shelf who wants a taught overview buys OnlineMedEd. A student who already has lectures and wants a corrected card deck buys AnkiHub, though a third-year with no lecture source should not make it the only resource. A PGY-2 after inpatient depth should skip OnlineMedEd, since a 2024 r/FamilyMedicine poster wanted "resident level as opposed to like onlinemeded." For a student paying out of pocket who needs only spaced repetition, OnlineMedEd loses at $30 per month against $6.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Anki AnKing Step Deck
by AnkiHub
Free Anki flashcard app plus the community-made AnKing USMLE deck. AnkiHub is the paid sync service, with an AI chatbot on Premium.

OnlineMedEd
by OnlineMedEd (Archer Review)
Whiteboard video lessons, illustrated notes and question banks for MD, DO and PA students, from preclinical years to Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX.
When to pick each one
Anki AnKing Step Deck
- Free Anki app, AnkiHub Core $6 per month
- Community-corrected AnKing Step Deck
- Premium $10 per month adds Smart Search
OnlineMedEd
- $30 per month, billed $360 annually
- 600+ whiteboard videos and 3,000+ note pages
- Separate MD, DO and PA tracks
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Anki AnKing Step Deck
53of 100
OnlineMedEd
45of 100
| Dimension | Anki AnKing Step Deck | OnlineMedEd | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 12 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | +3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Anki AnKing Step Deck
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anki (desktop, AnkiWeb, AnkiDroid) | n/a | n/a | Free and open source (Ankitects). AnkiMobile on iOS is a paid app. Its price is not confirmed. |
| AnkiHub Core | $6 | n/a | Shared decks including the AnKing Step Deck, updates and suggestions. An older block on the same page still shows $5. |
| AnkiHub Premium | $10 | n/a | Adds Smart Search, the AnkiHub chatbot and Boards & Beyond / First Aid Forward content (those need separate subscriptions). |
| AnkiHub Lifetime | n/a | n/a | Labeled "early access rate". The same page also shows $66 per year and an older $240 lifetime block. |
OnlineMedEd
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual (MD, DO or PA) | n/a | $360 | Each program is priced the same. The pricing page lists no free tier. |
| 6 months (MD, DO or PA) | n/a | n/a | Billed $288 every 6 months. |
| 1 month (MD, DO or PA) | $79 | n/a | No free trial or refund policy is stated on the page. |
Evidence
Anki AnKing Step Deck
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
OnlineMedEd
Community
81 posts sourced: 12 positive, 59 neutral, 10 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Anki AnKing Step Deck | OnlineMedEd |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
