MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Anki AnKing Step Deck vs SimConverse

AnkiHub sells to the individual student building a Step 1 deck, while SimConverse's privacy policy describes its services as being for educators in the healthcare industry. Its buyer is a nursing or optometry program running simulations for a cohort. The two answer different buying questions. An M2 pays AnkiHub $6 per month for Core, which carries the AnKing Step Deck, or $10 for Premium with the chatbot and Smart Search. Boards & Beyond and First Aid Forward content inside Premium needs separate subscriptions to those products. AnkiHub's pricing page lists $66 per year and a $450 lifetime price labeled early access.

A simulation lead gets AI virtual patients, rubrics written in plain language and marked by the platform, and cohorts created through SSO or LTI 1.3 with Moodle, Canvas or Blackboard. The vendor lists SOC 2 Type II. A small self-rated study by Aston University authors, 16 final-year optometry students, found no significant difference between SimConverse and a human actor, with ChatGPT rated poorer. A 2026 Computers, Informatics, Nursing study by Villanova authors of first-year BSN students reported a higher but nonsignificant therapeutic communication skill score in the SimConverse group.

Medical education · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Free Anki flashcard app plus the community-made AnKing USMLE deck. AnkiHub is the paid sync service, with an AI chatbot on Premium.

SimConverse logo

SimConverse

by Dymaxion Technologies Pty Ltd

AI simulated patients for communication training in health professions education.

When to pick each one

Anki AnKing Step Deck

  • Anki desktop, AnkiWeb and AnkiDroid cost $0
  • AnkiHub Core $6 per month, Premium $10
  • Premium adds chatbot and Smart Search
Read the full Anki AnKing Step Deck review

SimConverse

  • AI simulated patients with rubric marking
  • SSO and LTI 1.3 for Moodle and Canvas
  • Cohorts created through SSO or LTI
Read the full SimConverse review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Anki AnKing Step Deck

53of 100

Solid choice

SimConverse

32of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Anki AnKing Step Deck and SimConverse
DimensionAnki AnKing Step DeckSimConverseDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 74.9 / 7-4.9
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 1.80 / 1.80
Funding & adoption signal12 / 123 / 12+9
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.53.3 / 6.5+3.3
Years in market0 / 7.80 / 7.80

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Anki AnKing Step Deck

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Anki (desktop, AnkiWeb, AnkiDroid)n/an/aFree and open source (Ankitects). AnkiMobile on iOS is a paid app. Its price is not confirmed.
AnkiHub Core$6n/aShared decks including the AnKing Step Deck, updates and suggestions. An older block on the same page still shows $5.
AnkiHub Premium$10n/aAdds Smart Search, the AnkiHub chatbot and Boards & Beyond / First Aid Forward content (those need separate subscriptions).
AnkiHub Lifetimen/an/aLabeled "early access rate". The same page also shows $66 per year and an older $240 lifetime block.

SimConverse

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecAnki AnKing Step DeckSimConverse
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedYes
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedYes
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/aAU

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full medical education comparison

USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.