Apricot vs Freed
Freed's homepage says the scribe starts at $39 per month, and its pricing page offers a seven-day trial. Each paid card shows two prices. Premier is $119 per month billed monthly, $104 on annual billing, and it is the tier that adds a Chrome extension pushing notes into browser-based EHRs such as SimplePractice, Tebra, Elation and Athena. Freed says it is built for independent practices. A poster on r/FamilyMedicine in June 2025, when Freed cost $99 per month, called it "very basic but I think that's the point" and said it fell short on more complex visits. Apricot publishes no card price. It documents OASIS visits for home health agencies, and a homepage case study cites Choice Health at twice the Start of Cares per clinician, a vendor claim with no method given. An independent practice buys Freed off a published card, and a home health agency with OASIS visits buys Apricot through a sales call. Apricot's pages describe no practice buyer.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Apricot
- Documents home health OASIS visits
- Vendor cites 2x Start of Cares per clinician
Freed
- From $39 per month with a 7-day trial
- Premier tier pushes notes into browser-based EHRs
- Free Core plan for residents and trainees
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Apricot
22of 100
Freed
33of 100
| Dimension | Apricot | Freed | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 0 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -2.5 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | -4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Apricot
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Book a demo or contact sales. Trial and refund not stated. |
Verified November 2, 2026 from apricothealth.ai (opens in new tab).
Freed
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | per month | $39 | 1 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price |
| Core | per month | $79 | unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price |
| Premier, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $119 | the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier |
| Premier, annual billing | per month, billed annually | $104 | annual reading of the toggle, per third parties |
| Front Desk | per month, starting at | $149 | Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai (opens in new tab).
Evidence
Apricot
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Freed
Community
11 posts sourced: 3 positive, 8 neutral, 0 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Apricot | Freed |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2022 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.


