Apricot vs TORTUS
TORTUS says it is a UKCA Class IIa medical device, ISO 13485 certified and NHS DTAC compliant, and it states no HIPAA, SOC 2 or US presence. Apricot sells to US home health agencies and states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA. TORTUS targets NHS clinicians, calls its Epic and Cerner ambient integrations the first in the NHS, and lists the London Ambulance Service's telephone clinical hub and St George's emergency department among its deployments. It publishes no price. A UK G-Cloud 14 pilot document, valid to March 2025, lists GBP 30,000 excluding VAT for a three-month pilot with unlimited licenses and GBP 15,000 for up to 100. Apricot's price comes through sales, and its QA step flags missing or conflicting chart information with source references. Its hospice support is targeted for 2027. For an NHS trust emergency department on Epic or Cerner, TORTUS has the stated NHS footprint.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Apricot
- Sells to US home health agencies
- Hospice support targeted for 2027
TORTUS
- Epic and Cerner ambient integrations in the NHS
- Vendor says UKCA Class IIa medical device
- Vendor lists London Ambulance Service and St George's
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Apricot
22of 100
TORTUS
33of 100
| Dimension | Apricot | TORTUS | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 0 / 13 | +13 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 6.3 / 21 | -6.3 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -8.4 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 6 / 12 | -3 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 2.5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | -4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Apricot
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Book a demo or contact sales. Trial and refund not stated. |
Verified November 2, 2026 from apricothealth.ai (opens in new tab).
TORTUS
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quote only | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returned a 404. |
Verified October 14, 2026 from tortus.ai (opens in new tab).
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Apricot | TORTUS |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Epic, Cerner |
| Founded | n/a | 2022 |
| HQ | US | UK |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.

