Bayesian Health vs OpenEvidence
OpenEvidence costs a verified US physician nothing, paid for by pharmaceutical advertising. Bayesian Health has no public price and sells to hospitals. An emergency physician or resident who wants cited literature between patients uses OpenEvidence, with NEJM, JAMA and NCCN content behind its answers.
Bayesian's customers are health systems, and the vendor's clearance release quotes Cleveland Clinic and University of Rochester Medicine. The sepsis flagging device holds an FDA 510(k) clearance dated April 30, 2026, shows a high-risk flag in the EHR, and rests on a 2022 Nature Medicine study across five hospitals whose mortality figures are the vendor's. OpenEvidence states no FDA status and no EHR integration, so a sepsis program has no reason to consider it. A medRxiv pilot, not peer reviewed, tested OpenEvidence on subspecialty scenarios and scored quick search at 31% accuracy and Deep Consult at 39.5%. That is a different task from sepsis flagging. A physician who wants literature answers has no Bayesian plan to buy.
Decision support · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Bayesian Health
by Bayesian Health
Sepsis flagging software that monitors EHR data continuously and shows a high-risk flag in the chart. FDA 510(k) cleared April 2026.

OpenEvidence
by OpenEvidence · founded 2022
Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.
When to pick each one
Bayesian Health
- FDA 510(k) K250680, cleared April 2026
- Built on the Johns Hopkins TREWS sepsis system
- No public price, hospital sales
OpenEvidence
- Free for NPI-verified physicians, ad-funded
- NEJM, JAMA and NCCN content partnerships
- SOC 2 Type II, standard BAA for PHI
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Bayesian Health
33of 100
OpenEvidence
52of 100
| Dimension | Bayesian Health | OpenEvidence | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 12 / 12 | 0 / 12 | +12 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 8.4 / 21 | 21 / 21 | -12.6 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 4.5 / 9 | -4.5 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -6 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | -1.2 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | -4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Bayesian Health
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
OpenEvidence
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | n/a | n/a | Free for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded). |
Evidence
Bayesian Health
FDA decisions
K250680 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-04-30
Bayesian Health Sepsis Flagging Device
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Bayesian Health.
OpenEvidence
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name OpenEvidence.
- Performance of Large Language Models on Diagnostic Radiology Board-Style Questions: A Comparative Evaluation of GPT-4o, Perplexity AI, and OpenEvidence. (opens in new tab)
- OpenEvidence. (opens in new tab)
- Concordance of ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, and OpenEvidence with the 2024 AAOS guidelines on acute isolated meniscal pathology. (opens in new tab)
Community
20 posts sourced: 3 positive, 14 neutral, 3 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Bayesian Health | OpenEvidence |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 2022 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.
