MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Bayesian Health vs VisualDx

Only one of these holds an FDA clearance. Bayesian Health's sepsis flagging device cleared as K250680 on April 30, 2026, while a 2020 DermExpert FAQ says VisualDx is not FDA approved and is exempt from regulation. Hospitals that want a cleared sepsis monitor go to Bayesian, on a contract with no public price.

VisualDx is a differential builder for skin findings, sold to individuals, small groups and hospitals. Elite costs $299.99 per year billed annually, groups of two to five and large groups are quoted, and the library holds more than 50,000 clinical images across skin tones. It promises integration with "major EHRs" and names none. Bayesian calls its integration EHR-native and names no EHR list either.

A hospital dermatology service wanting rash comparison gets nothing from a sepsis monitor. A sepsis program gets nothing from an image library, and VisualDx makes no regulatory claim for its AI image analysis. That leaves the FDA clearance as the deciding fact for any sepsis purchase.

Decision support · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Bayesian Health logo

Bayesian Health

by Bayesian Health

Sepsis flagging software that monitors EHR data continuously and shows a high-risk flag in the chart. FDA 510(k) cleared April 2026.

VisualDx logo

VisualDx

by VisualDx · founded 1999

Differential diagnosis builder with 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites.

When to pick each one

Bayesian Health

  • FDA 510(k) K250680, cleared April 2026
  • Continuous sepsis monitoring from EHR data
  • Hospital contract, no public price
Read the full Bayesian Health review

VisualDx

  • Elite is $299.99 per year, billed annually
  • 50,000+ images matched by skin tone and body site
  • Groups of 2 to 5 get quoted pricing
Read the full VisualDx review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Bayesian Health

33of 100

Competitive

VisualDx

48of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Bayesian Health and VisualDx
DimensionBayesian HealthVisualDxDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 2114.7 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 99 / 9-9
Funding & adoption signal6 / 128.4 / 12-2.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Bayesian Health

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

VisualDx

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Core (education)n/a$249.99Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee.
Elite (clinicians)n/a$299.99Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually.
Groups and Enterprisen/an/aContact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecBayesian HealthVisualDx
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a1999
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.