Birth Model vs VisualDx
Elite costs $299.99 per year billed annually and Core, the education plan, $249.99 per year billed annually. VisualDx is therefore a card purchase for a single clinician, and groups of 2 to 5 users get a quote. Birth Model publishes no price and offers a demo and an ROI calculator.
VisualDx ranks a differential from findings and shows look-alike images across skin tones and body sites, from a library the vendor puts above 50,000 images. It states no FDA clearance, says "major EHRs" without naming them, and dates its SMART on FHIR and HL7 infobutton work to 2012. Birth Model forecasts delivery timing, projects census for staffing and raises risk alerts, and openFDA lists no 510(k) under Birth Model or BirthModel. Its founder and CEO is an OB-GYN at Penn Medicine Princeton Medical Center.
A clinician buying a differential builder and an obstetrics service buying labor floor forecasting belong to separate procurement lanes.
Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Birth Model
by Birth Model
Predictive AI for labor and delivery units: delivery timing, staffing forecasts and hemorrhage and preeclampsia risk alerts.

VisualDx
by VisualDx · founded 1999
Differential diagnosis builder with 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites.
When to pick each one
Birth Model
- Labor and delivery forecasting and alerts
- Founder is an OB-GYN at Penn Medicine Princeton
VisualDx
- Elite $299.99 per year billed annually
- 50,000+ images across skin tones
- Differential builder, no FDA clearance stated
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Birth Model
25of 100
VisualDx
48of 100
| Dimension | Birth Model | VisualDx | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 10 / 10 | 0 / 10 | +10 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 1.7 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | +1.7 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 4.8 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | +4.8 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 9 / 9 | -9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | -1.2 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Birth Model
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returns 404; the site offers a demo and an ROI calculator only. |
VisualDx
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core (education) | n/a | $249.99 | Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee. |
| Elite (clinicians) | n/a | $299.99 | Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually. |
| Groups and Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Contact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users. |
Evidence
Birth Model
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
VisualDx
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name VisualDx.
- Early Perspectives on Utilization of a Clinical Decision Support Tool: A Mixed-Methods Study. (opens in new tab)
- Experiences, challenges and lessons while implementing a clinical decision support system in Botswana. (opens in new tab)
- Racial disparities in skin tone representation of dermatomyositis rashes: a systematic review. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Birth Model | VisualDx |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 1999 |
| HQ | n/a | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.
