CarePilot vs MedScrub
Around the visit, on the chart, is where MedScrub operates. Its pages describe overnight summaries, trended labs, flagged open plans, pre-visit prep and chart chat, run on the clinician's own machine, and the vendor states it strips the 18 HIPAA Safe Harbor identifiers before a model sees the data. CarePilot works inside the visit, filling SOAP fields live and putting suggested CPT codes and drafted orders into athenaOne.
A 6-provider practice that wants open plans from prior visits checked buys MedScrub. Its Practice tier is $89 per provider per month billed annually and Solo is $99 per month, currency not stated, and 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits with a determination letter get a free tier. A practice that wants the encounter documented live buys CarePilot, quoted per provider monthly.
No buyer sets the two side by side, since MedScrub's pages describe chart summarization and pre-visit prep, not visit documentation.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
CarePilot
- Live SOAP fields and CPT suggestions in the visit
- Orders drafted into the athenaOne queue
MedScrub
- $89 per provider monthly, billed annually, currency not stated
- Overnight chart summaries and pre-visit prep
- Free tier for 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
CarePilot
42of 100
MedScrub
36of 100
| Dimension | CarePilot | MedScrub | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 0 / 13 | +13 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 6.3 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -4.2 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 4.8 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -7.2 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 2.8 / 7 | 0 / 7 | +2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | -2.5 |
| Years in market | 3 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +3 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
CarePilot
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Verified November 2, 2026 from carepilot.com (opens in new tab).
MedScrub
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | n/a | n/a | For developers: 500 credits at sign-up. The page does not label its currency; USD is assumed from the "$" signs. |
| Solo | $99 | n/a | Annual billing available; the page says it saves $600 a year. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Practice | $89 | n/a | For 2 to 10 providers. Save $480 a year versus monthly. Example: two providers at $178 a month. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 3,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 3,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 10,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 10,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 100,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 100,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Nonprofit | n/a | n/a | Free for 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits with a determination letter. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom pricing. |
Evidence
CarePilot
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names CarePilot.
MedScrub
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | CarePilot | MedScrub |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | athenahealth | Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks |
| Founded | 2023 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.


