MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

CarePilot vs Medwriter

Medwriter's Standard tier is $99 per user per month, currency not stated, with unlimited sessions, templates and extra document drafting, and no credit card is required. The Pro tier adds E/M coding suggestions and EHR integration through a Chrome extension, with its price shown as "Reach Out". Medwriter offers a BAA and lists athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, AdvancedMD, Healthie and IntakeQ.

A solo outpatient clinician on Healthie or IntakeQ is Medwriter's buyer, at a published $99. CarePilot's buyer wants lab, exam and prescription orders drafted into the athenaOne queue, on one per-provider monthly quote that covers scribe, coder and orders, with extra credit packs for heavy use of its Amelia assistant.

An athenahealth practice that wants the integration included falls short with Medwriter, whose integration sits in the Pro tier at a price shown as "Reach Out", while CarePilot quotes one number for scribe, coder and orders written back through the athenaOne API.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

CarePilot logo

CarePilot

by DocuCare Inc. · founded 2023

AI notes, ICD-10 and CPT coding, and orders drafted inside athenaOne, for independent athenahealth practices.

Medwriter logo

Medwriter

by S7Labs, LLC

AI scribe for outpatient clinicians that drafts notes, codes and letters from live recordings.

When to pick each one

CarePilot

  • Scribe, coder and order drafting under one price
  • Amelia answers questions with patient context loaded
Read the full CarePilot review

Medwriter

  • Standard: $99 per user per month, currency not stated
  • BAA offered, referral and denial letter drafts
  • Lists Healthie, IntakeQ, AdvancedMD, eClinicalWorks
Read the full Medwriter review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

CarePilot

42of 100

Competitive

Medwriter

37of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for CarePilot and Medwriter
DimensionCarePilotMedwriterDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA13 / 137.8 / 13+5.2
EHR integrations (count)6.3 / 2110.5 / 21-4.2
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)4.8 / 124.8 / 120
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers2.8 / 70 / 7+2.8
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency2.5 / 55 / 5-2.5
Years in market3 / 60 / 6+3

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

CarePilot

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Verified November 2, 2026 from carepilot.com (opens in new tab).

Medwriter

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Standard$99n/aUnlimited sessions, template library, hint words and additional document drafting. No credit card required, cancel anytime. Trial length and refund not stated.
Enterprisen/an/aThe Pro tier is listed as "Reach Out" with no price. It adds custom templates, EHR integration through a Chrome extension and E/M coding suggestions. No public price.

Evidence

Medwriter

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCarePilotMedwriter
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAAYesYes
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsathenahealthAllscripts, Athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie, IntakeQ
Founded2023n/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.