MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ceribell vs DermaSensor

DermaSensor is offered on monthly rental, with purchase terms by discussion. A primary care practice gets a one-year device use agreement with a try-and-return option and training included, per the FAQ, and the vendor says no dedicated CPT code exists yet. The FAQ states no rental or purchase price. The FDA route is De Novo, DEN230008, for physicians using it on lesions already suspicious for skin cancer. Vendor figures show 96% sensitivity in the DERM-SUCCESS multi-reader study but 33% specificity in DERM-ASSESS III, a multicenter prospective blinded study, and 9.4% at the lowest cut point in a UPMC study. A primary care practice renting a handheld lesion reader and an ICU buying a bedside EEG recorder are shopping for different products.

Ceribell sells to hospitals under order contracts. Fees are paid in advance on net 30 terms, the one-year initial term renews yearly unless the hospital gives 90 days' notice, and a lost loaned recorder costs $2,500. Its buyers are ICUs and emergency departments that need seizure detection on a bedside EEG, and openFDA lists sixteen Ceribell 510(k) records.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Ceribell logo

Ceribell

by Ceribell

Point-of-care EEG headband with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor, for hospitals, ICUs and emergency departments.

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

When to pick each one

Ceribell

  • Bedside EEG with AI seizure detection for ICU and ED
  • Sixteen FDA 510(k) records
  • NTAP payment for delirium solution from October 1, 2026
Read the full Ceribell review

DermaSensor

  • Monthly rental with try-and-return option
  • FDA De Novo, DEN230008, for suspicious skin lesions
  • Aimed at primary care physicians
Read the full DermaSensor review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ceribell

49of 100

Solid choice

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Ceribell and DermaSensor
DimensionCeribellDermaSensorDifference
FDA clearance12 / 1212 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2114.7 / 210
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 94.5 / 90
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ceribell

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Purchase terms: one-year initial term, auto-renewing yearly unless 90 days notice.

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

Evidence

Ceribell

FDA decisions

Show 11 more

Peer-reviewed

4 PubMed records name Ceribell.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCeribellDermaSensor
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2009
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.