MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ceribell vs OpenEvidence

One is signed by a hospital and the other opened by an individual physician. Ceribell's terms run a one-year initial term that auto-renews unless the hospital gives 90 days' notice, with fees paid in advance and $2,500 reimbursable for a loaned recorder that is lost or destroyed. OpenEvidence is free to NPI-verified physicians and paid for by advertising, and its privacy banner says it shares limited information with third parties to measure advertising and does not sell or share searches.

OpenEvidence answers clinical questions with cited literature, and its security page states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance under a standard BAA. Ceribell's point-of-care EEG gives a hospital team a seizure burden estimate every 10 seconds, and the vendor's own figures for status epilepticus detection are 95% sensitivity and 97% specificity. The DECIDE multicenter prospective study of rapid-response EEG appeared in Critical Care Medicine in 2020. Physicians weigh OpenEvidence against UpToDate and Doximity GPT, while Ceribell's litigation is against the EEG competitor Natus, so the two sit on separate shortlists.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Ceribell logo

Ceribell

by Ceribell

Point-of-care EEG headband with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor, for hospitals, ICUs and emergency departments.

OpenEvidence logo

OpenEvidence

by OpenEvidence · founded 2022

Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.

When to pick each one

Ceribell

  • Order-based hospital contract, net 30, one-year initial term
  • DECIDE multicenter prospective study of rapid-response EEG
Read the full Ceribell review

OpenEvidence

  • Free for NPI-verified physicians, ad-funded
  • SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA with a BAA
Read the full OpenEvidence review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ceribell

49of 100

Solid choice

OpenEvidence

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Ceribell and OpenEvidence
DimensionCeribellOpenEvidenceDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 94.5 / 90
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 1212 / 12-3.6
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market0 / 64.2 / 6-4.2

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ceribell

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Purchase terms: one-year initial term, auto-renewing yearly unless 90 days notice.

OpenEvidence

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aFree for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded).

Evidence

Ceribell

FDA decisions

Show 11 more

Peer-reviewed

4 PubMed records name Ceribell.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCeribellOpenEvidence
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2022
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.