MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Ceribell vs VisualDx

VisualDx lists Core (education) at $249.99 per year and Elite (clinicians) at $299.99 per year, both billed annually, and quotes groups of two to five users on request. A clinician subscribes to build a differential and compare lesion images by skin tone, and the vendor says the library holds 50,000+ clinical images. VisualDx's site states no FDA clearance, and a 2020 DermExpert FAQ says VisualDx is exempt from FDA regulation.

Ceribell is bought by a hospital under an order-based contract, with fees paid in advance on net 30 terms. Its recorder puts an EEG headband on the patient, and the delirium monitor produces a delirium-biomarker score updated every 10 seconds, the vendor says. Ceribell has 16 FDA 510(k) records. VisualDx supports a clinician's differential at the point of care, while Ceribell's recorder streams to a remote portal for review.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Ceribell logo

Ceribell

by Ceribell

Point-of-care EEG headband with AI seizure detection and a delirium monitor, for hospitals, ICUs and emergency departments.

VisualDx logo

VisualDx

by VisualDx · founded 1999

Differential diagnosis builder with 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites.

When to pick each one

Ceribell

  • Order-based fees paid in advance on net 30
  • Remote portal showing seizure burden and delirium trend
Read the full Ceribell review

VisualDx

  • Core (education) $249.99, Elite (clinicians) $299.99 yearly
  • Differential builder with skin-tone image comparison
Read the full VisualDx review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Ceribell

49of 100

Solid choice

VisualDx

48of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Ceribell and VisualDx
DimensionCeribellVisualDxDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2114.7 / 210
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 99 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Ceribell

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Purchase terms: one-year initial term, auto-renewing yearly unless 90 days notice.

VisualDx

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Core (education)n/a$249.99Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee.
Elite (clinicians)n/a$299.99Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually.
Groups and Enterprisen/an/aContact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users.

Evidence

Ceribell

FDA decisions

Show 11 more

Peer-reviewed

4 PubMed records name Ceribell.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecCeribellVisualDx
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a1999
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.